ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha MG32/FX mixer question  (Read 1440 times)

Bryant Skillern

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
    • fredericfellowship.org
Yamaha MG32/FX mixer question
« on: January 03, 2012, 02:04:23 pm »

Hi All!

We just picked up a Yamaha MG32/FX Mixer. Our old board(s) were crowded.
We have some audio techs coming this week to hang our Peavey Sanctuary Series (I think 15")
speakers from the ceiling. They have been stacked on top of our old speaker cabs for a while, resulting in hot spots for those who are willing to sit in front of them.

Anyhoo,  the questions I wanted to ask are:

#1  Can I take our old speakers, bypass the crossovers and use just the 15" speakers as subwoofers?"
 I was told that I should be able to if our mixer has SUB outputs on it.

question #2 is about the mixer itself:
(We didn't get a user's manual with the mixer, so I'm not sure what it does have.)
 
Is anyone here familiar with this particular mixer, and which output would I use to go to a power amp for the sub woofers if I re-wire them?
Logged

g'bye, Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7424
  • Duluth
Re: Yamaha MG32/FX mixer question
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2012, 02:16:59 pm »

Hi All!

We just picked up a Yamaha MG32/FX Mixer. Our old board(s) were crowded.
We have some audio techs coming this week to hang our Peavey Sanctuary Series (I think 15")
speakers from the ceiling. They have been stacked on top of our old speaker cabs for a while, resulting in hot spots for those who are willing to sit in front of them.

Anyhoo,  the questions I wanted to ask are:

#1  Can I take our old speakers, bypass the crossovers and use just the 15" speakers as subwoofers?"

Not really.  The cabinet design will not be correct, but you could do it.  It will only go as low as the original rated response, so you will not really gain any LF extension beyond the original full-range rating.  You will also need a cross-over to divide the signal from the board into separate amplifiers for the (so-called) subs and the new tops and provide the proper filtering, both low and high to protect the speaker and properly divide the signals sent to both speaker cabinets.
Quote

 I was told that I should be able to if our mixer has SUB outputs on it.

"Sub outputs" from your mixer would not generally refer to sub-woofers, but rather would be outputs from the "sub groups".

Quote

question #2 is about the mixer itself:
(We didn't get a user's manual with the mixer, so I'm not sure what it does have.)
 
Is anyone here familiar with this particular mixer, and which output would I use to go to a power amp for the sub woofers if I re-wire them?

http://www.yamahaproaudio.com/global/en/products/mixers/mg_fx/downloads.jsp

You can go to this link and download the manual.

Yes, you could re-rig the old cabinets to kludge up more volume in the LF range.  Will it improve things?  Not really much if at all.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2012, 02:41:53 pm by dick rees »
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Bryant Skillern

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
    • fredericfellowship.org
Re: Yamaha MG32/FX mixer question
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2012, 03:09:06 pm »

Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.045 seconds with 22 queries.