ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What is with CAPTCHA, makes it tough to post  (Read 3733 times)

Matt Vivlamore

  • Lab Lounge
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
    • https://www.facebook.com/MeerkatSound/
What is with CAPTCHA, makes it tough to post
« on: December 20, 2011, 02:31:00 pm »

Why is this "Verification" required for me to post messages and send PMs?

It takes about 10 tries before I can post something.  So far I have attempt with the following:

#1: xix rictxp
#2: near-source sifore
#3: lphapt rats.

Editing message:
#1: 198 estpen
#2: only befthes
#3: ideiths proceedings"

And then I get a An Error Has Occurred! You already submitted this post! You might have accidentally double clicked or tried to refresh the page.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2011, 02:33:49 pm by Matt Vivlamore »
Logged

Dan Johnson

  • Classic LAB
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • Memphis, TN
Re: What is with CAPTCHA, makes it tough to post
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2011, 04:46:31 pm »

Why is this "Verification" required for me to post messages and send PMs?

It takes about 10 tries before I can post something.  So far I have attempt with the following:

#1: xix rictxp
#2: near-source sifore
#3: lphapt rats.

Editing message:
#1: 198 estpen
#2: only befthes
#3: ideiths proceedings"

And then I get a An Error Has Occurred! You already submitted this post! You might have accidentally double clicked or tried to refresh the page.
The Captcha is to prevent spambots from posting on the site.  It is explained somewhere on here but  it goes away after you have two posts I think.  And I believe posts in the Marketplace and Bugs & Comments sections don't count towards that number.  So once your post count under your name is up to 2, it should go away I believe.
Logged

Henry Moreau

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: What is with CAPTCHA, makes it tough to post
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2011, 10:19:29 am »

The Captcha is to prevent spambots from posting on the site.  It is explained somewhere on here but  it goes away after you have two posts I think.  And I believe posts in the Marketplace and Bugs & Comments sections don't count towards that number.  So once your post count under your name is up to 2, it should go away I believe.

I sure hope your right it's a bit to much!
Logged
♫♪♫ ☼ LIVE FREE OR DIE ☼ ♫♪♫

Henry Moreau

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: What is with CAPTCHA, makes it tough to post
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2011, 10:22:13 am »

I sure hope your right it's a bit to much!

Hope this works it's hard to read those scrambled words.
Logged
♫♪♫ ☼ LIVE FREE OR DIE ☼ ♫♪♫

David Elsbury

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Computer says no...
Re: What is with CAPTCHA, makes it tough to post
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2011, 02:58:58 pm »

Well... no it won't work. As Dan said above your first post in this thread, posts in Bugs and Comments don't count. Once the number beside your name hits 2, then it goes away. (So make another useful post in the main part of the forum and you're all set)

David
Logged

Matt Vivlamore

  • Lab Lounge
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
    • https://www.facebook.com/MeerkatSound/
Re: What is with CAPTCHA, makes it tough to post
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2011, 05:16:04 pm »

I made 2 posts and it disappeared...  It sucks that the post count and creditability from the old forums didn't come over here.
Logged

Doug de Werd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: What is with CAPTCHA, makes it tough to post
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2012, 03:48:30 pm »

I am a long time lurker and haven't posted since the upgrade - until today. I tried to post in the LAB Lounge, and went through the Captcha thing. The first time I did it, it came back with an error saying I didn't type it right. I think I left off one of the punctuation marks. So I tried to repost - with a new Captcha - and it says I've already posted.

No big deal - except my post never made it to the LAB Lounge. So I don't know if it's out there in post limbo or what.

Thanks,
Doug
Logged

Jeff Bankston

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2269
Re: What is with CAPTCHA, makes it tough to post
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2012, 10:30:35 pm »

you can always click on the little thingy to change to a different set of scramble words that might be easier to reed. i have ben on places and clicked many tiimes to getta setta words i could reed. if it wernt for the saxophone i never wood a learned to reed !
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: What is with CAPTCHA, makes it tough to post
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2012, 10:30:35 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.049 seconds with 22 queries.