ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: XLR I/O Distro  (Read 193 times)

Bobby Gonzales

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
XLR I/O Distro
« on: September 18, 2021, 12:00:36 PM »

I have multiple Powersoft amps. Some of them don't have analog outputs. This make it hard to connect them all at the same time. They expect you to use AES3 or Dante. The amps are used for a DJ rig so the digital options are not ideal. I would like to get some sort of XLR I/O distrobution. The only thing I can think of is using a Processor but I dont want it to effect the sound quality. Is there any other options out there?
Logged

Steve-White

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 691
  • Fort Worth
Logged

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1135
Re: XLR I/O Distro
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2021, 05:13:29 PM »

I have multiple Powersoft amps. Some of them don't have analog outputs. This make it hard to connect them all at the same time. They expect you to use AES3 or Dante. The amps are used for a DJ rig so the digital options are not ideal. I would like to get some sort of XLR I/O distrobution. The only thing I can think of is using a Processor but I dont want it to effect the sound quality. Is there any other options out there?

You’re going to need to be a little more specific here.  Is the lack of analog outputs a problem because you want to chain signal through?  Then use a splitter like Scott linked or get a distribution amp.  If it’s something else you’ll have to explain what you’re trying to accomplish.
Logged

Bobby Gonzales

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: XLR I/O Distro
« Reply #3 on: Yesterday at 06:19:38 PM »

Yes I want to chain the signal. I've tried using a splitter but I didn't like how low the input signal was.  I just looked up distribution amplifier and it is exactly what I was looking for I was looking for. Thank you
Logged

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1813
  • So. Dak.
    • Sturz Audio
Re: XLR I/O Distro
« Reply #4 on: Yesterday at 08:28:06 PM »

Yes I want to chain the signal. I've tried using a splitter but I didn't like how low the input signal was.  I just looked up distribution amplifier and it is exactly what I was looking for I was looking for. Thank you

Unless you are splitting a bunch, you don’t need to worry about signal loss. If you are just splitting say less then 6 times (there is math if you want to do it… your summed input impedance should be 10 times greater then the output impedance) you should be fine.

If you do have drastic signal loss when splitting an XLR feed a few times… something is wrong.
Logged
Audio Systems Design Engineer
Daktronics, Inc.
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2095
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: XLR I/O Distro
« Reply #5 on: Yesterday at 10:04:39 PM »

If you do have drastic signal loss when splitting an XLR feed a few times… something is wrong.

+1.

You should easily be able to split a signal a half dozen times with no issue.  Amps that have an in and out essentially are just a split no different than an external one.
Logged
Brian Jojade

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: XLR I/O Distro
« Reply #5 on: Yesterday at 10:04:39 PM »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.035 seconds with 25 queries.