ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Yorkville U215 power...  (Read 6749 times)

Steve Loxton

Yorkville U215 power...
« on: November 30, 2011, 11:56:22 pm »

Not a lot on here on this subject, so...

I've been running a powered Unity rig for over 4 years, now and my gigs have been growing beyond the capability of 2 U15P per side and 4 UCS1P. Using more than 2 per side of these (except in very wide venues) doesn't seem viable. So, much as I wish Yorkville made the U215 in a powered version, I need more SPL and I'm moving up to two pairs of these and am planning on powering them with QSC PLX, or PLX2 amps; because they're light and there are scads of them available used at good prices on fleabay and I've had good luck with them in my pre-active newby days.

Do you think 4 x PLX2502 (or 2402) bridged (one per cab on the low end) and 2 x PLX1802 (one channel per cab high end) would be a good system? I realize the 575w into 4ohms for the highs seems like a lot, but apparently these cabs like lots of mid/high power and I can always throttle the amps back and I'd really prefer to idle my amps than push them to their (probably exagerated) published specs. The 2500w for each cabs low end seems about right for their 1800w rating to keep the amps from working too hard.

So, a few more questions...

1) Could/should I move to the cheaper/lighter 1104 on mid/highs? Power seems to be about the same, but you can't bridge them (not that I plan to, but it's a little less versatility should that ever be desired)...