ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Does anyone else do "vertical pairing" except Yamaha ?  (Read 4788 times)

Magnus "Magic" Johansson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Does anyone else do "vertical pairing" except Yamaha ?
« on: November 19, 2011, 04:03:04 pm »

Hi

I am in the process of selecting a new mixer to replace our worn-out 01V96 V2. We are running it together with a Marian Adcon 8-channel ADAT in/out converter for additional 8 line-ins and outs.

The 01V96 suits us very well so the new 01V96i looks like a very good alternative, but I am also looking at for example the Soundcraft Si Compact16 and the Roland M300 plus a S1608 stagebox.

I have learned to like to have all my channels, also the stereo-channels on one fader. This way I can have all mics, instruments and CD-player on the first layer, even if I have 20 inputs but "only" 12 different channels if I calculate the stereo-channels as one.

What struck me when looking thru specs and manuals for different mixers is that I can not find any other than the Yamaha's that can do this "vertical pairing", or have I missed something here ?

Thank You
Magnus
Logged

Marcus Thiel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
    • otonmusic.de
Re: Does anyone else do "vertical pairing" except Yamaha ?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2011, 04:24:11 pm »


What struck me when looking thru specs and manuals for different mixers is that I can not find any other than the Yamaha's that can do this "vertical pairing", or have I missed something here ?

Soundcraft for Example does it the same way. Also the Ability of creating Custom Layers on many digital Desks gives you something similar, with many Channels (and also VCAs, Groups etc.) on one Layer of Faders.
Logged

Christian Tepfer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 120
    • Klanggestaltung Blog (German)
Re: Does anyone else do "vertical pairing" except Yamaha ?
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2011, 05:52:26 am »

Soundcraft for Example does it the same way. Also the Ability of creating Custom Layers on many digital Desks gives you something similar, with many Channels (and also VCAs, Groups etc.) on one Layer of Faders.
Yeah, but it makes no real sense on the Vi series. You lose the advantage to switch from a Vi4 to a Vi6, because the paired channels change. User layers are a much better way to clean up the surface imho.

Yamaha had outgrown the vertical pairing on the M7 and LS9, allowing free pairs (and pairing more than 2 channels), Soundcraft has the mighty "gang" function, iLive the ganging and so on...
Logged
Christian Tepfer
christian at amanya dot de

Magnus "Magic" Johansson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Does anyone else do "vertical pairing" except Yamaha ?
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2011, 08:21:37 am »

Yeah, but it makes no real sense on the Vi series. You lose the advantage to switch from a Vi4 to a Vi6, because the paired channels change. User layers are a much better way to clean up the surface imho.

Yamaha had outgrown the vertical pairing on the M7 and LS9, allowing free pairs (and pairing more than 2 channels), Soundcraft has the mighty "gang" function, iLive the ganging and so on...

Yes, the GANG-function is a great help sometimes but not in this case, because I just want to pair channels 2 and 2, and have only one fader per pair. A custom layer will do this, and Yes, that is the cleanest way to do it, as is VCA's, BUT . . . . none of these features are (as far as I can tell from Virtual Si and manuals) available on the Si Compact :-(
Logged

Darren Scaresbrook

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 123
  • Adelaide, South Australia
    • Concert Systems Australia
Re: Does anyone else do "vertical pairing" except Yamaha ?
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2011, 04:39:48 am »

Yes, the GANG-function is a great help sometimes but not in this case, because I just want to pair channels 2 and 2, and have only one fader per pair. A custom layer will do this, and Yes, that is the cleanest way to do it, as is VCA's, BUT . . . . none of these features are (as far as I can tell from Virtual Si and manuals) available on the Si Compact :-(
The iLive will do what you are after. You can gang 2 (or more) channels and only one needs to appear on the surface. The others still exist and work but have no hardware control associated to them. The iLive also has Dca's if you prefer to use that method.
Darren

Jonathan Kok

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
  • Toronto
Re: Does anyone else do "vertical pairing" except Yamaha ?
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2011, 09:13:30 am »

Hi

I am in the process of selecting a new mixer to replace our worn-out 01V96 V2. We are running it together with a Marian Adcon 8-channel ADAT in/out converter for additional 8 line-ins and outs.

The 01V96 suits us very well so the new 01V96i looks like a very good alternative, but I am also looking at for example the Soundcraft Si Compact16 and the Roland M300 plus a S1608 stagebox.

I have learned to like to have all my channels, also the stereo-channels on one fader. This way I can have all mics, instruments and CD-player on the first layer, even if I have 20 inputs but "only" 12 different channels if I calculate the stereo-channels as one.

What struck me when looking thru specs and manuals for different mixers is that I can not find any other than the Yamaha's that can do this "vertical pairing", or have I missed something here ?

Thank You
Magnus
On the Roland, you can gang the controls on the master fader bank, then assign one of them to the user fader bank.  That one channel on the user bank will control both inputs on the master bank.  Channels are X:1 with inputs, meaning you can assign multiple channels to inputs, but not multiple inputs to channels.
Logged

George Dougherty

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 724
Re: Does anyone else do "vertical pairing" except Yamaha ?
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2011, 11:10:39 pm »

Yes, the GANG-function is a great help sometimes but not in this case, because I just want to pair channels 2 and 2, and have only one fader per pair. A custom layer will do this, and Yes, that is the cleanest way to do it, as is VCA's, BUT . . . . none of these features are (as far as I can tell from Virtual Si and manuals) available on the Si Compact :-(

It doesn't have a manufacturer provided console surface, but Software Audio Console does stereo channels as one virtual channel.  72 channels on the virtual surface and all can be either mono or stereo.  The software will address up to 72 physical mono inputs but stereo channels can only be adjacent physical odd/even pairs for the time being.  You can however latch any number of channels together, locking all controls in sync like the gang function already mentioned.  Since you can shuffle virtual channels around in any order you want on the virtual console surface, you can shuffle the unused channels out of sight.

I mention it since I was originally looking at purchasing an 01V96V2 and haven't regretted going with SAC one bit.  Worth looking at if your budget doesn't extend to the nicer $12-20K+ consoles out there.  Not for everyone, but I wouldn't run you off from the idea either based on your needs.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Does anyone else do "vertical pairing" except Yamaha ?
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2011, 11:10:39 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.066 seconds with 24 queries.