Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > LAB Lounge FUD Forum Archive

QSC PL236 Good or bad?

(1/2) > >>

Anthony William:
Hello I have a chance to pick up a PL236 for under $500 was thinking of using it with my RMX 850 to run my ev SX500+'s bi-amp mode. Any feed back would be appreciated.

Silas Pradetto:
Great amp.

There's more to biamping speakers than just another amp. Do you have the EV required DSP? Do you have a way to port the EV DSP settings over to another platform?

And an RMX850 is probably a bit small to have enough voltage swing to really wake up those HF drivers.

Anthony William:
Hey Silas, Thanks for your response.
I'm aware there's more to it than just another amp, although I am no expert.
I plan on processing the signal through EQs, crossovers and comp/limiter.
I,m aware the PL236 has a data port for external dsp or computer control of
internal dsp board if equipped. Thats stuff I don't know much about. Also
I am an Ableton user so was thinking of processing signal through that. I
know Depesch Modes Drummer does this. so I don't see why it wouldn't work
for me I will be using my rig for electronic music, mostly techno.  I also have two EVX 180A's that I will build cabs for and an EV MTL-1 .
So my RMX 850 is to small, do you think it would make sense to use it at all or run my tops straight off say the PL236 if I pick it up?

John Livings:
Hi Anthony,

Your Speakers;

http://www.electrovoice.com/sitefiles/downloads/sx500-eds.pd f

Your Amp;

http://www.qscaudio.com/pdfs/Specifications/RMX_spec.pdf

The Amp you are buying;

http://www.qscaudio.com/products/amps/powerlight2/powerlight 2.htm

It looks to me that your RMX-850 (180W Per Channel @ 8 Ohm's) is more than enough for the HF drivers (60W) of the EVX 180A's.

It is not my intention to step on any toes here, As I am a student of this stuff myself.

Anyone?

Regards,  John

Silas Pradetto: