ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8   Go Down

Author Topic: Presonus StudioLive over Midas?  (Read 27616 times)

Mark Jastrzebski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
Presonus StudioLive over Midas?
« on: December 31, 2010, 12:07:24 am »

Is it me or is this hard to believe?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uN40LMi0_xA&feature=sub
Logged

Matthew Haber

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 220
    • http://www.matthewhaber.com
Re: Presonus StudioLive over Midas?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2010, 12:22:04 am »

While I happen to not be much of a SL fan, I can understand where he is coming from in this instance. I have never toured but I would imagine that having to deal with a different mixer every night would be a pretty big pain in the butt. If you a touring with a board that has all your mixes already on it, I would imagine it isn't really practical to use a house board even if the house board is much higher end than what you have. For theatre work (which is what I do), I would take an M7 over any 48 channel analogue Midas regardless of how much outboard you give me since I want to have scene recall for pretty much every parameter everything.
Logged

Phil LaDue

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Presonus StudioLive over Midas?
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2010, 12:24:44 am »

It's called advertising.

Justice C. Bigler

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1286
Re: Presonus StudioLive over Midas?
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2010, 01:00:52 am »

Mark Jastrzebski wrote on Thu, 30 December 2010 23:07

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uN40LMi0_xA&feature=sub


Hey Paul Gilbert, 1975 called, they want their in-ear-monitors back  Laughing

I'm a StudioLive hater, but I'd rather have it than a Venice 320... Rolling Eyes
Logged
-Justice C. Bigler
House Sound Tech
Tulsa Performing Arts Center

IATSE Local 354

Michael_Gazdziak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
Re: Presonus StudioLive over Midas?
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2010, 01:01:21 am »

This is very similar to the "Leave it on the truck" thread from a little bit ago.  The tour accountant probably wouldn't be too happy if the gear they acquired for the tour wasn't being used in favor of the house equipment.  

I wonder how long they waited, how many venues with unimpressive house rigs, before they shot the video with the StudioLive next to a Midas, for maximum effect.  
Logged

Jeff Wheeler

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2364
Re: Presonus StudioLive over Midas?
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2010, 01:48:48 am »

Mike Gazdziak wrote on Fri, 31 December 2010 00:01

This is very similar to the "Leave it on the truck" thread from a little bit ago.  The tour accountant probably wouldn't be too happy if the gear they acquired for the tour wasn't being used in favor of the house equipment.

This is probably an endorsement deal, which means the band is probably required to use the StudioLive unless circumstances make it difficult or impossible.
Logged
Jeff Wheeler, wannabe sound guy / moonlight DJ

Kristian Johnsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2765
    • http://www.partyfabrikken.no
Re: Presonus StudioLive over Midas?
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2010, 02:03:24 am »

Mike Gazdziak wrote on Fri, 31 December 2010 07:01

This is very similar to the "Leave it on the truck" thread from a little bit ago.  The tour accountant probably wouldn't be too happy if the gear they acquired for the tour wasn't being used in favor of the house equipment.  

I wonder how long they waited, how many venues with unimpressive house rigs, before they shot the video with the StudioLive next to a Midas, for maximum effect.  


Probably not very long being that two of the guys in the video stated it was the first date of the tour.

I'd like them to get back to us after 20 gigs.
Logged

Don McMeckan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
    • http://no
Re: Presonus StudioLive over Midas?
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2010, 02:59:23 am »

I met Ace a couple of times very briefly when he was working for Tower of Power. The tour they did with Tom Jones about 4 or 5 years ago, Tom Jones' FOH guy had a PM5D, Ace wanted a PM 4000. My how times have changed!

Logged

Bennett Prescott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8924
    • http://www.adraudio.com
Re: Presonus StudioLive over Midas?
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2010, 10:02:29 am »

Justice C. Bigler wrote on Fri, 31 December 2010 01:00

I'm a StudioLive hater, but I'd rather have it than a Venice 320... Rolling Eyes

Me too, but that was no Venice 320. There was also some pretty cash outboard. That video was like watching someone get excited about a Prius.
Logged
-- Bennett Prescott
Director of North American Sales
ADRaudio d.o.o.
Cell: (518) 488-7190

"Give me 6dB and I shall move the world." -Archimedes

Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6592
Re: Presonus StudioLive over Midas?
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2010, 10:50:53 am »

Mark Jastrzebski wrote on Thu, 30 December 2010 23:07

Is it me or is this hard to believe?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uN40LMi0_xA&feature=sub



It's called ADVERTISING..........
Logged
 Neo-Luddite, Rocket Surgeon
"Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain."
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.05 seconds with 18 queries.