ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Digital  (Read 11004 times)

Randy "razz" Mann

Digital
« on: December 21, 2010, 12:48:17 AM »

I am a teacher and have been charged with researching a new sound system for our auditorium. It seats about 700.

I've been advised that a Yamaha LS9-32 is a great board to get. My question is, from the stage to the FOH, is digital more preferential than a 32-8 snake? Is digital more reliable? What equipment do I need for the stage end of the cable? Would it be a fiber-optic cable or a cat5?

There is a huge learning curve to this digital stuff, and I can't find much about it. Any links for information would also be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Jordan Wolf

• http://www.facebook.com/howlingwolf487
Re: Digital
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2010, 12:56:03 AM »

I suggest researching audio install companies in your locale.  Most have a gallery of pictures or a list of places that they've serviced.  Find similar venues to yours and see what is required for that type of space and the types of performances in it.

That will be your best use of time.  A number of people on this forum work for install companies; I recommend listing your location so we can perhaps be of more assistance.
Wolf
<><

"A lack of preparation on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part."
- Me

"With that much comb filtering you could probably part your hair just by walking through the room." - Dick Rees

Randy "razz" Mann

« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2010, 01:00:17 AM »

Wyoming  -  The closest guy I've found that is both honest and knowledgeable is in Denver. I hate to keep bugging him with "simple" questions, so I thought I'd try to bug a different group of people.  Rolling Eyes