ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Question for bass players who also know sound  (Read 14587 times)

Paul Walters

Question for bass players who also know sound
« on: November 30, 2010, 07:33:57 PM »

Hey all, I decided to ask this question here rather than register on some bass forum to ask. I trust your technical know-how much more than I would theirs.

I'm a live guy though and through and I'm also a drummer; these are useful skills until I have to know something about setting up a bass rig. So here's the question:

I have a Crown XLS 202 sitting around and my bass player is in need of a bigger amp (practice amp is too small and borrowed amp availability is iffy). Would it be possible to use the Crown as the power amp for a bass rig consisting of a 4x10 (or 2x12 or 1x15) cab rated 400w+ at 8 ohms? I haven't seen any bass rigs built this way, but I figure if rackmount guitar rigs can have separate pre and power amps, why not bass? (Do they even make bass preamps, or would we have to get creative with a botique bass DI?)

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Milt Hathaway

• http://www.fitzcosound.com
Re: Question for bass players who also know sound
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 07:40:14 PM »

Geddy Lee was doing this decades ago with an Ashly preamp and BGW power amps. Sansamp makes a couple of nice rack mount bass preamps that will drive a power amp directly, while also giving a nice feed to the PA. Some players use a Pod to drive a power amp.

There may even be a line out on the practice amp that will drive the Crown.

In other words, yes it will work.
--
Milt
FitzCo Sound, Inc.
Midland, TX
http://www.fitzcosound.com

Paul Walters

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 07:44:24 PM »

Great! I think a Pod would be a good investment for him anyway.