ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: AGC  (Read 2328 times)

Bob Cap

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 376
    • http://parallel.tzo.com/AdvancedAudio
AGC
« on: November 13, 2010, 05:26:36 pm »

I have an install that we need to vary the level in one zone depending on the equipment running in that area.

Any suggestions for an automatic system that will allow us to put a sensing mic in that room and adjust the zone output automatically?

Thanks

Bob Cap
Advanced Audio Inc.
Gilbert, MN
Logged

Jason Lavoie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
Re: AGC
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2010, 07:58:09 pm »

my first choice would be a Symetrix product. the newest being http://www.symetrixaudio.com/jupiter/
depending on how many zones you have, and if you already have a system that just needs help in one zone will affect your specific choice.
the Symetrix 760 also allows ambient noise compensation on one channel, or if you go to symnet you can do as many as you like (I/O permitting)

Jason
Logged

Jason Lavoie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
Re: AGC
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2010, 07:59:28 pm »

I should add that if it is just one specific piece of noisy equipment, it may be easier to setup a sensor that can tell you when it's on, then almost any DSP can do a gain change based on a contact closure..

Jason
Logged

Bob Cap

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 376
    • http://parallel.tzo.com/AdvancedAudio
Re: AGC
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 11:31:30 am »

Jason,

Unfortunately it's not just one piece of equipment, but several in the shop area.

What input do you use on the 760 for the sensing mic? I looked on their website and it was not clear how to do this.

Bob
Logged

Jason Lavoie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
Re: AGC
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 10:01:32 pm »

it's not super obvious at first. I had to open it up to refresh my memory.
if you open up the 760 software and click on the "Zones" button top right then choose the "SPL Auto-gain" tab all of the options are there.

it's only available on the first 3 zones, and if you're dropping this into an existing project, keep in mind that on the 760 only the first 4 inputs are balanced, and a zone input plus sense mic takes two. so you can really only do 2 zones of auto-gain without some workarounds.

I just noticed the thread title of AGC. don't confuse the two, as the RCA inputs do have AGC settings to try to normalize incoming levels. but of course only the "SPL Auto-Gain" feature uses a sense mic to adjust levels based on the environment

Jason
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.126 seconds with 20 queries.