ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Smaart 7 Hookup Question  (Read 7895 times)

Johnny Diaz

Smaart 7 Hookup Question
« on: March 13, 2011, 01:31:47 PM »

Hello,

My name is Johnny and I'm been an avid lurker here on psw for sometime.  Have learned alot from reading threads and study hall.  I'm new to the sound reinforcement world.  I have downloaded and installed Smaart 7.  Im using a Mac along with the first USBPre and a Rane TTM57SL mixer.  The mixer has balanced xlr left + right outputs.  My question is on the hookup. 

I have two Mackie Powered speakers connected to the mixers xlr outputs.  From what I understand I'm supposed to use a y cable to split the signal on the mixers out to get a reference signal and connect that to the USBPre.  If I do this don't I lose the signal on that output by half?  The measurement signal goes from the USBPre to the USBPre.     

Thanks for your help

Rob Spence

• Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: Smaart 7 Hookup Question
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 01:36:56 PM »

As a lurker you must have seen the mods require real names.
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Johnny Diaz

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2011, 01:46:22 PM »

As a lurker you must have seen the mods require real names.

Sorry about that.

Jay Barracato

• Solomons, MD
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2011, 01:54:07 PM »

Hello,