ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: URGENT DVI over Fiber and HDCP...  (Read 3661 times)

Justin Dodd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
URGENT DVI over Fiber and HDCP...
« on: November 04, 2010, 11:19:20 pm »

Hey all,

Ive got a show tomorrow where we are running a Mac Book Pro into a Barco DCS200 via DVI (1920x1080). All items in line are supposedly HDCP Compliant.

Our Problem is when we go out of the Barco via DVI into a DVI DA into a 100' meter Fiber Cable into a 65" Plasma via HDMI we get a black Screen. If I swap the Fiber Cable for a regular DVI cable we get a nice image. If we plug the Mac Book Directly into the DVI Fiber Cable we get a nice image.

Suggestions? We will need to use the Fiber cable as our Plasmas are about 150' away from the source.

One workaround has been going VGA into the Barco then DVI and Fiber to the Plasma, but at the cost of resolution...

Thanks,

Justin
Logged

William Bassett

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: URGENT DVI over Fiber and HDCP...
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2010, 11:40:17 pm »

You stated that all the components were HDCP compliant.
That includes the DVI-DA?

Logged

Justin Dodd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: URGENT DVI over Fiber and HDCP...
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2010, 11:47:01 pm »

Ya we tried using a Kramer VM-4HDCP 1x4 DVI DAs and 1 Gefen Extendit DVI-142 1x2 Splitter. It didnt seem to matter which one we used.

Thanks
Logged

Ken Freeman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2119
Re: URGENT DVI over Fiber and HDCP...
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2010, 12:35:41 am »

You may need a remote power supply on the receive side of the fiber snake as the HDMI to DVI adaptor will not have and DC in it.

Ken
Logged

Justin Dodd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: URGENT DVI over Fiber and HDCP...
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2010, 01:31:00 am »

Got the Power Supplies. These are the 100 meter Orange Fiber Cables with DVI on both sides that VER has. We were using our DVI to HDMI adapter after the powered Fiber/DVI connection.

Thanks,
Logged

Justin Dodd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: URGENT DVI over Fiber and HDCP...
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2010, 03:37:08 pm »

So we are now using an older Mac Book Pro with a DVI output not the Mini Display Port. And the whole setup works fine now.

I found this website explaining that newer MacBooks are activating the HDCP regardless if the content is HDCP encrypted or not. http://www.serialdigital.com/

I bought a Gefen DVI Detector to see if it will help our situation.

Annoying to say the least...

Thanks guys,

Justin
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.055 seconds with 21 queries.