ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Built a new t18 and it sounds like garbage! p.s im a noob -_-  (Read 17494 times)

Tim Weaver

• http://www.weaverimaging.com
Re: Built a new t18 and it sounds like garbage! p.s im a noob -_-
« Reply #20 on: October 12, 2010, 01:34:59 PM »

Unfortunately I built these subs for a former employer (state of Texas) and I no longer have access to them. They were, however, just the straight up cabinet as recommended by WinISD. I didn't change anything. I think I used dual three-inch ports in each cab iirc. That size port was the most manageable size for my cabinet. 4 inch ports were way too long, and required a bend on the inside plus making the cabinet physically larger than needed.

These make nice single 18 subs. Nothing special, but very nice sounding, and a decent size to move around....

Art Welter

« Reply #21 on: October 12, 2010, 04:28:24 PM »

Tim Weaver wrote on Mon, 11 October 2010 22:00

WTF was EV thinking when they sold that cab to the public???

They were thinking that a small cabinet that can put out kick drum punch loud enough to be heard over an Ampeg SVT or an Acoustic 360 would be groovy.

Much of the kick drum sound of the disco era was not much lower than the fat snare sound that went with it, if a cabinet could do  60 Hz, good enough.

We want another octave lower now.

Kevin Unger

« Reply #22 on: October 26, 2010, 12:22:36 AM »

Art Welter wrote on Mon, 27 September 2010 07:21

Kevin,

The T 18 bass box referenced in this thread is a lousy bass box made by EV, not a lousy BFM box.

BFM's graphs would be much more believable if they were not hand drawn.

(OT)

Art,

I own and abuse a lot of those "lousy" BFM boxes. I've missed this part of the post as I was in a hurry.