ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Elation Show Designer 2: Control by MIDI  (Read 4340 times)

Terry Martin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 350
    • http://www.SixtyFourEast.com
Elation Show Designer 2: Control by MIDI
« on: October 11, 2010, 05:24:43 pm »

Anyone ever successfully implement MIDI control of a Show Designer 2?  I've searched all over the net, and cannot figure this out. My controller is a Roland SPD-S which outputs MIDI notes.  The SD2 appears to be ouputting some form of MIDI machine language.  

Thanks.  
Terry
Logged
Martin Performance Enterprises, LLC
Live Audio, Lighting - Rentals, Sales, Installs
Henderson, KY
--------------------

Terry Martin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 350
    • http://www.SixtyFourEast.com
Re: Elation Show Designer 2: Control by MIDI
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2010, 10:08:12 am »

Anyone an "expert" in MIDI that might be able to help?  I've asked several with MIDI experience, and no one can help.  This may be something very simple - but I'm clueless.  

Thanks.  
Logged
Martin Performance Enterprises, LLC
Live Audio, Lighting - Rentals, Sales, Installs
Henderson, KY
--------------------

Duane Massey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2189
    • http://www.ozknozz.com
Re: Elation Show Designer 2: Control by MIDI
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2010, 10:28:11 am »

According to the manual the SD 2 uses it's own midi message to record scene changes, so these need to be recorded into the computer from the controller.

It also says that the controller uses midi continuous controller messages, which is odd. I would suggest calling Elation and talk to Inez (?), as he is the resident expert on the Showdesigner series.
Logged
Duane Massey
Houston, Texas, USA

Jim Brooks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 218
Re: Elation Show Designer 2: Control by MIDI
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2010, 11:46:11 am »

MIDI Program Change (1 through 128) should be able to call up your predesigned Scenes and Shows.

MIDI Program Change #1 would bring up Scene #1 on the Show Designer.

Similar to a MIDI controller calling up different programs on an FX unit.

Jim Brooks
Logged

Terry Martin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 350
    • http://www.SixtyFourEast.com
Re: Elation Show Designer 2: Control by MIDI
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2010, 11:30:40 am »

That was my thought, as well.  But this appears to be the case on the Show Designer 1.

I get really confused when reading the info in Elations Forum.

http://forums.elationlighting.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/4981062 842/m/6801038883

The Show Designer 2 uses MIDI continuous controller messages to send and receive scene changes and blackouts.

The message format for scene changes is as follows:

0Bxh pp nn, where x is the MIDI channel (0-15 decimal), pp is the scene page (0-98 decimal) and nn is the scene number (0-47 decimal).

The message format for blackouts is as follows:

0Bxh nn vv, where x is the MIDI channel (0-15 decimal), nn equals 99 decimal and vv is non zero for blackout on and zero for blackout off.


Jim Brooks wrote on Thu, 14 October 2010 11:46

MIDI Program Change (1 through 128) should be able to call up your predesigned Scenes and Shows.

MIDI Program Change #1 would bring up Scene #1 on the Show Designer.

Similar to a MIDI controller calling up different programs on an FX unit.

Jim Brooks

Logged
Martin Performance Enterprises, LLC
Live Audio, Lighting - Rentals, Sales, Installs
Henderson, KY
--------------------

Jeff Foster

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 157
Re: Elation Show Designer 2: Control by MIDI
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2010, 02:38:09 pm »

I realize this is an old post, but I have done this just recently.  I'm still working out the kinks, but I have successfully triggered lighting scenes on our Show Designer 2 via MIDI commands recorded into and played back from Cubase.

The Show Designer 2 and 3 use some weird continuous controller messages to activate lighting scenes.  I tried manually creating the MIDI messages in Cubase with no luck.  However, playing them from the lighting controller while recording them in Cubase works perfectly.  When playing the MIDI recordings back from Cubase, the correct scenes are recalled.

After spending a few hours on this last week, I don't know that simple MIDI controllers would work.  Because of the strange format of MIDI messages that the show designer uses, it may not be possible to use anything other than a full MIDI sequencer to trigger them.  There is no MIDI note information in them at all.
Logged
Jeff Foster
Technical Director
Northside Baptist Church
Carrollton Texas
www.nsbcc.org

Duane Massey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2189
    • http://www.ozknozz.com
Re: Elation Show Designer 2: Control by MIDI
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2010, 06:21:19 pm »

Yep, that is the one flaw in the SD-series controllers specifically that just makes no sense.

It would have been nice to have some sort of standards in the industry, but the phrase "herding cats" comes to mind.
Logged
Duane Massey
Houston, Texas, USA
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.035 seconds with 18 queries.