ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need help on new sound system  (Read 4068 times)

Jack Brown

Need help on new sound system
« on: October 08, 2010, 10:42:27 AM »

Hello everyone,

have to say, very informative forum here. I'm a newbie to the pro audio world and on top of that this is my very first posting ever, in a forum - so before anyone has a temper tantrum, think of your first time...

In any case, I hope some of you can share your views/experience with me as I will be investing in a sound system still this year which will be used in a room that is about 20 metres x 5 metres (65 feet x 16 feet).

This is the system I have in mind:-

2 x   JBL AM5212/64
1 x   CROWN XTI 2000 (stereo)

1 x   JBL ASB6128V
1 x   CROWN XTI 2000 (bridged)

1 x   PIONEER DJM 700

1 x   FURMAN PL-8 C E

I think/hope the system is a good setup but, I do have a couple of questions:-

1. not being the expert - I assume the 60x40 coverage version of the AM5212 is the best option for the room size?

2. I'm a little bit worried because I can't listen to the jbl's before buying them - more specifically, I see loads of reviews/discussions on the SRX or MRX series but, nothing on the above mentioned AE Application Engineering series. Why is that?

3. the AM5212 loudspeakers use the same drivers as the MRX range and yet the AM speakers are quite a bit more expensive...why? should I just go with the MRX range? What is the difference between the two (apart from the extended frequency range on the AM5212 speakers)? Essentially they should sound the same? Or should I go with the SRX range?

4. is JBL being very accurate when they give their figures for frequency response?? Or do they use sound measurement tricks? When comparing to all the others such as EAW, EV, Peavey etc, no other speakers come close in terms of frequency range +/- 3db..