ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: jbl control 25t as an 8ohm cab???  (Read 9090 times)

greg molina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
jbl control 25t as an 8ohm cab???
« on: October 06, 2010, 09:37:09 pm »

hello, i had bought 4 of these from ebay,http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item= 280570967875&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT, and had assurance from the seller that it can be used as an 8ohm cab. i don't see an 8ohm selector from the the pix, and from the pdf files on the jbl website. can someone pls verify this as i may end up getting the 25av model instead. tnx for any inputs shared.
Logged

Hal Bissinger/COMSYSTEC

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 487
    • http://www.comsystecusa.com
Re: jbl control 25t as an 8ohm cab???
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2010, 05:40:08 pm »

The 25AV isn't going to help you either. Both have line transformers. I thought you wanted a 70 volt system?

-Hal

Duane Massey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2189
    • http://www.ozknozz.com
Re: jbl control 25t as an 8ohm cab???
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2010, 07:17:48 pm »

The seller lied. If you want an 8ohm speaker, you need the Control 25, not the 25T or 35AV.

You can bypass the transformer if you're stuck with the speakers (been there, done that), but I don't remember if this is possible by removing the input plate or not.
Logged
Duane Massey
Houston, Texas, USA

Hal Bissinger/COMSYSTEC

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 487
    • http://www.comsystecusa.com
Re: jbl control 25t as an 8ohm cab???
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2010, 08:03:25 pm »

I believe that the 8 ohm versions have protection where the transformer versions do not.

-Hal

Pat Latimer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 339
Re: jbl control 25t as an 8ohm cab???
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2010, 08:55:50 pm »

Duane Massey wrote on Thu, 07 October 2010 19:17

The seller lied. If you want an 8ohm speaker, you need the Control 25, not the 25T or 35AV.

You can bypass the transformer if you're stuck with the speakers (been there, done that), but I don't remember if this is possible by removing the input plate or not.



Did this a couple of months ago. Had to take the front grill off, remove the speaker and then bypass the transformer. Worked out pretty well.

Pat


Logged
"The most important of all sciences man can and must learn is the science of living so as to do the least evil and the greatest possible good".- Leo Tolstoy

fred dorado

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 150
Re: jbl control 25t as an 8ohm cab???
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2010, 12:15:55 am »

I bought a pair on ebay where the guy had already modified them. he was very clear about it in the listing and guaranteed the speakers to work. He had excellent feedback and sold several others and they were cheap enough I gave it a shot.

all that to say, they work fine, he bypassed the transformer as has been said
Logged
Clarity of Message through clarity of sound

greg molina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
Re: jbl control 25t as an 8ohm cab???
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2010, 12:38:19 pm »

hello, how do you bypass the transformer? are there terminals that i need to jump for it to be an 8ohm cab? sorry, but i've never done this before. any tips would be great. also, tnx to all inputs shared on this topic. i also need help in the same manner for a jbl control 1st speaker that has a set 20w voltage tap.i might post a separate thread on this though.
Logged

steven barnes

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 572
    • http://sbtechnicalservices.com
Re: jbl control 25t as an 8ohm cab???
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2010, 10:44:17 pm »

we have done this before on various speakers, all you need to do is bypass the transformer in the cabinet.

I am not sure about the particular wiring in that cabinet but it should go

Inputs terminals (on speaker cabinet)----Transformer----- internal crossover input

you want to bypass the transformer, so connect the input terminals to the internal crossover input terminals

input terminals (on speaker cabinet)------ internal crossover input
Logged
Steven Barnes
SB Technical Services
Ventura, CA
Website: www.sbtechnicalservices.com
Blog: http://sbtechnicalservices.com/Site/Blog/Blog.html
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.043 seconds with 18 queries.