ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: What do you Bi-amp with?  (Read 9798 times)

Ian Coughlin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
Re: What do you Bi-amp with?
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2010, 04:13:53 pm »

Silas,
So you daisy chain all your iTechs... what do you use for feedback elimination/control?
Logged

E. Lee Dickinson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1523
    • http://www.leedickinson.com
Re: What do you Bi-amp with?
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2010, 05:19:04 pm »

Ian Coughlin wrote on Mon, 23 August 2010 16:13

Silas,
So you daisy chain all your iTechs... what do you use for feedback elimination/control?


Not to answer for Silas, but I use my FOH EQ (in the board, in my case) for feedback control. Doing that in the system processors would seem like kindof a PITA.
Logged
E. Lee Dickinson
Advanced Visual Production Inc.
sound - lighting - video - design
www.avpric.com

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2401
Re: What do you Bi-amp with?
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2010, 05:38:23 pm »

E. Lee Dickinson wrote on Mon, 23 August 2010 17:19

Ian Coughlin wrote on Mon, 23 August 2010 16:13

Silas,
So you daisy chain all your iTechs... what do you use for feedback elimination/control?


Not to answer for Silas, but I use my FOH EQ (in the board, in my case) for feedback control. Doing that in the system processors would seem like kindof a PITA.

And in the analog world, the graphic eq that you have for each mix.
DSP (formally known as Speaker Processors) doesn't (in my opinion) replace controls at the mix position. Many people seem to think that because a DSP advertises all sorts of features, you have to use them all or you are wasting them  Confused
Logged
Rob Spence
Lynx Audio Services
E-Mail Rob -at- LynxAudioServices -dot- com

Staying out of trouble
  Is easier than
Getting out of trouble

Your local Whirlwind Dealer

Tom Reid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7412
Re: What do you Bi-amp with?
« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2010, 07:59:51 pm »

I'llhave to check my alignment,I'm triamping with XTI1000,XTI6000, and Itech6000.  Using the DSP on all.

As far as controlling them,I think the max I can run would be 254 with a USB>>Ethernet bridge.
Logged
tom

What does Buddha do on his day off?

Todd Rasmussen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 184
Re: What do you Bi-amp with?
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2010, 10:56:27 pm »

My old garage system SR4732A with a QSC PL3.4 on lows, PL236 on highs, DCX2496 handling that and subs.
Logged

Todd Rasmussen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 184
Re: What do you Bi-amp with?
« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2010, 10:56:40 pm »

My old garage system SR4732A with a QSC PL3.4 on lows, PL236 on highs, DCX2496 handling that and subs.
Logged

Bennett Prescott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8924
    • http://www.adraudio.com
Re: What do you Bi-amp with?
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2010, 11:12:46 pm »

Ian Coughlin wrote on Fri, 20 August 2010 13:45

I know I can get an IT4000 and limit the RMS but that wouldn't be a rational decision

Why not?

HF drivers need very low power from amplifiers with very high voltage rails. The logical solution is to limit for long term power so you don't burn up the voice coil, and provide a big enough amp to meet the excursion capabilities of the driver. An XTI 1000 is really pretty baseline in this regard, at least for good pro drivers.

Sorry if someone already covered this, I just skimmed the rest of this post.

P.S. Look at the impedance curve of your HF driver and think about just how much of that voltage is being turned into actual heating power, especially at the top end of the HF response. Not much!

P.P.S. For instance, here is a screenshot of the impedance curve for a 1" exit, 1.7" voice coil HF driver rated for 60W AES that I work with a lot. That driver is powered by an amplifier capable of delivering 330w to it. Up at the top of its response that amplifier would be clipping its rails pretty hard trying to deliver even half that.

index.php/fa/32205/0/
Logged
-- Bennett Prescott
Director of North American Sales
ADRaudio d.o.o.
Cell: (518) 488-7190

"Give me 6dB and I shall move the world." -Archimedes

Craig Smith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 300
Re: What do you Bi-amp with?
« Reply #17 on: August 25, 2010, 12:06:11 am »

Bennett Prescott wrote on Tue, 24 August 2010 20:12

P.P.S. For instance, here is a screenshot of the impedance curve for a 1" exit, 1.7" voice coil HF driver rated for 60W AES that I work with a lot. That driver is powered by an amplifier capable of delivering 330w to it. Up at the top of its response that amplifier would be clipping its rails pretty hard trying to deliver even half that.


Sorry, I'm not sure I understand.  Are you saying the amplifier can only deliver 165W because the impedance at the top end is double the nominal impedance?  But the speaker is only rated for 60W, so is that a problem?

Thanks.
Logged

Craig Smith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 300
Re: What do you Bi-amp with?
« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2010, 12:09:53 am »

Am I crazy to want an amp with 2 differently-sized channels?  I would like a single amp devoted to a single speaker so I can put it near the speaker and avoid long cables.
Logged

Bennett Prescott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8924
    • http://www.adraudio.com
Re: What do you Bi-amp with?
« Reply #19 on: August 25, 2010, 12:24:02 am »

Craig Smith wrote on Wed, 25 August 2010 00:09

Am I crazy to want an amp with 2 differently-sized channels?  I would like a single amp devoted to a single speaker so I can put it near the speaker and avoid long cables.

http://www.crownaudio.com/pdf/legacy/134168.pdf
Logged
-- Bennett Prescott
Director of North American Sales
ADRaudio d.o.o.
Cell: (518) 488-7190

"Give me 6dB and I shall move the world." -Archimedes
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.05 seconds with 19 queries.