Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > LAB Lounge

Cost For A Gig...

(1/3) > >>

Ray Saunders:
I'm fairly new to the sound game, but I've been asked by a club to do some sound for some R&B/Dance "B" artists.  Each gig will consist of one artist singing 3-4 songs to a prerecorded track, via cd/mp3 etc. I will also have a DJ system that will be patched into my board, so I'll have to be there all night.  I live in California and wondering what I should charge.  Is there a standard rate? 
Thanks!   

Tony Ly:
You need to post with your real name.

James Feenstra:

--- Quote from: Ray Saunders on March 11, 2011, 10:55:19 PM ---I'm fairly new to the sound game, but I've been asked by a club to do some sound for some R&B/Dance "B" artists.  Each gig will consist of one artist singing 3-4 songs to a prerecorded track, via cd/mp3 etc. I will also have a DJ system that will be patched into my board, so I'll have to be there all night.  I live in California and wondering what I should charge.  Is there a standard rate? 
Thanks!   

--- End quote ---
need more info;

are you supplying production (pa/lights/etc) or just coming in as a tech yourself?
if you're supplying production, what are you supplying?

obviously something for an arena sized show is going to be more than a small bar gig...need to get the scale of the event before a price can be determined

Ivan Beaver:

--- Quote from: Ray Saunders on March 11, 2011, 10:55:19 PM ---I'm fairly new to the sound game, but I've been asked by a club to do some sound for some R&B/Dance "B" artists.  Each gig will consist of one artist singing 3-4 songs to a prerecorded track, via cd/mp3 etc. I will also have a DJ system that will be patched into my board, so I'll have to be there all night.  I live in California and wondering what I should charge.  Is there a standard rate? 
Thanks!   

--- End quote ---