ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Wiring for 2 Lab & 4 Lab  (Read 2556 times)

Travis Dean

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • http://www.KaraokePlusLLC.com
Wiring for 2 Lab & 4 Lab
« on: August 13, 2010, 01:47:20 am »

So, I'm working on 2 Lab cabs for mobile DJ application.  I'm wondering how to wire the dual speakon to the lab 12's?  I've seen some guys do 1 speakon to 1 lab 12, then the other speakon to the other lab 12.  Also, wire them in series or parallel?
If the two work out for me, then I would like to add two more so I want the first two to work by themselves but be able to work with two more lab cabs.
Let me know what will work bext for me.
Thanks a bunch guys!
Logged
Travis Dean
Karaoke Plus, LLC

Art Welter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4874
Re: Wiring for 2 Lab & 4 Lab
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2010, 02:13:58 am »

Travis Dean wrote on Thu, 12 August 2010 23:47

So, I'm working on 2 Lab cabs for mobile DJ application.  I'm wondering how to wire the dual speakon to the lab 12's?  I've seen some guys do 1 speakon to 1 lab 12, then the other speakon to the other lab 12.  Also, wire them in series or parallel?
If the two work out for me, then I would like to add two more so I want the first two to work by themselves but be able to work with two more lab cabs.
Let me know what will work bext for me.
Thanks a bunch guys!

We should know what is best for you?

You need to decide if you want four wires feeding a sub which is good for damping factor, or a pair feeding the subs and the other pair feeding tops, which may save running a second long cable.

The speakers are normally wired in parallel, the horn loading raises the 3 ohm nominal impedance to a bit over 4 ohms per cabinet.

Here is one way to  wire:
index.php/fa/32010/0/
Logged

Travis Dean

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • http://www.KaraokePlusLLC.com
Re: Wiring for 2 Lab & 4 Lab
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2010, 02:21:53 am »

Just what I needed.
To clarify; if I wire them using the "4 wire" way, then I'll be able to go into one speakon and out the other to another lab cab?  The "2 wire" way I wouldn't be able to, correct?
Logged
Travis Dean
Karaoke Plus, LLC

Silas Pradetto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3047
Re: Wiring for 2 Lab & 4 Lab
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2010, 10:27:38 am »

Travis Dean wrote on Fri, 13 August 2010 02:21

Just what I needed.
To clarify; if I wire them using the "4 wire" way, then I'll be able to go into one speakon and out the other to another lab cab?  The "2 wire" way I wouldn't be able to, correct?


Wiring speakons in parallel has little to do with the number of conductors in use.
Logged

Art Welter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4874
Re: Wiring for 2 Lab & 4 Lab
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2010, 12:35:38 pm »

Travis Dean wrote on Fri, 13 August 2010 00:21

Just what I needed.
To clarify; if I wire them using the "4 wire" way, then I'll be able to go into one speakon and out the other to another lab cab?  The "2 wire" way I wouldn't be able to, correct?

With the two NL4 wired in parallel, whatever is fed into one connector will come out the other.
Logged

Travis Dean

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • http://www.KaraokePlusLLC.com
Re: Wiring for 2 Lab & 4 Lab
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2010, 01:37:47 pm »

Perfect, thanks!
Logged
Travis Dean
Karaoke Plus, LLC
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.068 seconds with 18 queries.