ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11 ... 15   Go Down

Author Topic: Let's see your RACKS! FOH & AMP  (Read 52744 times)

Jake Scudder

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1395
    • http://www.jakescudder.com
Re: Nice Rack
« Reply #80 on: June 17, 2010, 03:21:06 pm »

Eric Simna wrote on Thu, 17 June 2010 15:03

Jake Scudder wrote on Thu, 17 June 2010 14:40

Power Mute (bonus points for whomever guesses what that's for)


Talkback to Mon World?


No.  In fact, it is not muting audio at all.

Logged
Website: http://www.jakescudder.com

480.262.7742

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1600
    • http://www.weaverimaging.com
Re: Nice Rack
« Reply #81 on: June 17, 2010, 08:33:32 pm »

Tap sync for delays?


And BTW, how friggin tall are you that you needed 2 20sp racks for a console stand! Shocked

I'm 6'4" and that would be a little too tall for me. I use a 12/20 space for my 01v and it's just right, but it's also racked so that it sits flush with the top of the rack. I wouldn't want it any taller.
Logged

Jake Scudder

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1395
    • http://www.jakescudder.com
Re: Nice Rack
« Reply #82 on: June 18, 2010, 02:35:18 pm »

Tim Weaver wrote on Thu, 17 June 2010 20:33

Tap sync for delays?


And BTW, how friggin tall are you that you needed 2 20sp racks for a console stand! Shocked

I'm 6'4" and that would be a little too tall for me. I use a 12/20 space for my 01v and it's just right, but it's also racked so that it sits flush with the top of the rack. I wouldn't want it any taller.


I'm 6'3".  Keep in mind these are rack inserts only.  Pulled out of their ATA style surrounds. 18U is my preference but the shop only had shallow 18U inserts when we did the build so I went with 20.  Most people wouldn't like it but it saves me a bunch of tendonitis.

Logged
Website: http://www.jakescudder.com

480.262.7742

Jake Scudder

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1395
    • http://www.jakescudder.com
Midi Mute
« Reply #83 on: June 18, 2010, 02:41:18 pm »

The Power Mute is being used as a midi mute.  Since the desk is triggering QLab I need a way to be able to move around to different snapshots without firing the sound cues.  

The midi connections are all in a booth so an actual midi mute isn't practical.  Instead, we just adapted a standard 5 pin midi cable to XLR, circuited that through two of my dry lines (the 9 pair panel), and used the Power Mute.
Logged
Website: http://www.jakescudder.com

480.262.7742

Phil Lewandowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1101
Re: Midi Mute
« Reply #84 on: June 18, 2010, 05:00:58 pm »

Well, I've never gotten to take part in the porn fun yet so... I guess I'll post nearly finished racks.


http://i717.photobucket.com/albums/ww173/beatmasterphil/FrontofAmprackupdate.jpg


http://i717.photobucket.com/albums/ww173/beatmasterphil/BackofAmprackUpdate.jpg



Take Care,
Phil
Logged
"It is good to be Alive!"

L and L: Live Sound
landllivesound.com

Mike McNany

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1506
Re: Midi Mute
« Reply #85 on: June 19, 2010, 09:27:43 am »

Phil,
Two questions.

What did you use for your I/O Panel labeling? Looks great, almost etched?

What's with both the BBE DSP and the U15 Processor?

Mike McNany
Logged

John Halliburton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1785
Re: Midi Mute
« Reply #86 on: June 19, 2010, 10:03:32 am »

Mike McNany wrote on Sat, 19 June 2010 08:27

Phil,
Two questions.

What did you use for your I/O Panel labeling? Looks great, almost etched?

What's with both the BBE DSP and the U15 Processor?

Mike McNany


One of these or similar, using black tape that produces white lettering:

http://www.amazon.com/Brother-PT-1880-Advanced-Deluxe-Labele r/dp/B000JVHH9W

I use one to wrap labels around mics, mic cables, stands, etc., and sometimes use clear shrink wrap over that, but IIR, Brother is making some heavier duty label tape stock now too.  Comes in 3-4 widths as well as white and clear.

Best regards,

John
Logged

Phil Lewandowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1101
Re: Midi Mute
« Reply #87 on: June 19, 2010, 01:04:41 pm »

Mike McNany wrote on Sat, 19 June 2010 09:27

Phil,
Two questions.

What did you use for your I/O Panel labeling? Looks great, almost etched?

What's with both the BBE DSP and the U15 Processor?

Mike McNany


Hey Mike,

Yes, John is correct I got a version of a Brother labeler that supported white on clear labeling.


Pretty much, the U15 processor just alone isn't powerful enough for what I am doing.  The U15 does have a specific EQ, but of course I probably could have measured it with Smaart and then matched it pretty close even with a value DSP like the BBE DS.

But the big reason for the Unity processor is bi-amping the U15s.  It is much easier to bi-amp them with it since it is made specifically for that.  The inputs of the rack go to the DSP.  The L-R high outs of the DSP go to the Unity processor.

That is actually the next thing to pick up; a PLX3002 for the horn.


Take Care!
Phil
Logged
"It is good to be Alive!"

L and L: Live Sound
landllivesound.com

Brad Gibson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 392
    • http://WWW.CAPITALAPRODUCTIONS.COM
Re: Midi Mute
« Reply #88 on: June 20, 2010, 02:02:05 pm »

Here is my latest creation
index.php/fa/30891/0/

Joe Brugnoni

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1497
Re: Midi Mute
« Reply #89 on: June 20, 2010, 05:18:53 pm »

WOW  very nice!!


Phil I love the fact that you painted the outlet boxes!!!
Logged
Be nice to everyone as you can learn something from anybody
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11 ... 15   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 14 queries.