ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down

Author Topic: Shure ULX, SLX, PGX ???  (Read 32285 times)

Adam Ellsworth

Re: Shure ULX, SLX, PGX ???
« Reply #30 on: September 07, 2010, 12:38:52 am »

Leo Melkote wrote on Tue, 07 September 2010 05:10

I would like if someone could outline the technical reasons (Ok, not too technical Smile ) as to why a wired mic is a better option than wireless.

I'm not a wireless expert, but I can take a stab, anyway.

Let's say you can put the same Beta58 capsule on a wired mic, or a wireless mic. And at first blush, you'd expect them to sound identical... but of course they don't. The "problem" is what's in the middle. A wired mic delivers (more or less) exactly what is coming from the mic element to the board's pre-amp.

A wireless mic has to take the analog signal, convert it to something else (whether it's digital or analog), transmit it through air, piece it back together, and then build a new signal that gets sent to the board. At each of these steps, the quality of components and design will detract from or color the signal.

So the primary disadvantage to wireless (at a logical level) is that it is made of a bunch of components trying to behave exactly like a pair of wires. And the more money you spend, the closer you get. On the other hand, the advantage to wireless is that you don't need those wires. Smile

...I hope I didn't oversimplify it too much. But that's the gist of it, I believe.

Rick Stansby

« Reply #31 on: September 07, 2010, 12:39:03 am »

Brian Jojade wrote on Mon, 06 September 2010 19:13

Ryan Lantzy wrote on Fri, 19 March 2010 18:31

Charles Wick wrote on Wed, 17 March 2010 02:40