ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel  (Read 4295 times)

(BJ) Benjamin Fisher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« on: February 18, 2010, 09:37:50 PM »

I am using all of my Aux's for monitors, so isnt there a way I can run an Outboard Effects unit into a spare channel I have and be able to incorporate it into the vocal channels? How, and how will this work? I have no experience with such process.
Logged
BJ Fisher
Stealthy Sound
Columbus,OH

Tim McCulloch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 0
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 09:46:22 PM »

benjamin fisher wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 20:37

I am using all of my Aux's for monitors, so isnt there a way I can run an Outboard Effects unit into a spare channel I have and be able to incorporate it into the vocal channels? How, and how will this work? I have no experience with such process.

From where would the input to the FX be derived?
Logged
"Will you stand by me against the cold night, or are you afraid of the ice?" Crack The Sky

Adam Whetham

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3077
  • Grand Forks, ND
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2010, 09:49:41 PM »

if its just one channel you could user the channel insert. which would also send the effect to the monitors though. and you would have to hit the bypass button to turn it on and off and adjust the wetness on the unit.

You could also cheat and if your board has groups assign the vocal channels to a group, then take the group out (if it has such a thing) and run it back into a channel...

what board do you have that you have all the aux's filled up with monitors?
Logged
-I practice safe excursion on the weekends.

"If you think it's expensive to hire a professional to do the job, wait until you hire an amateur." -Paul Neal "Red" Adair

Scott Deeter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1055
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2010, 09:55:51 PM »

Nevermind Adam beat me to it Crying or Very Sad
Logged
Take care,
Scott Deeter

Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6592
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2010, 10:00:37 PM »

Adam...

Yamaha MG166 was cited in his introductory post.

That would be a big 3 auxes.  
Logged
 Neo-Luddite, Rocket Surgeon
"Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain."

(BJ) Benjamin Fisher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2010, 10:36:56 PM »

This particular board is a Yamaha MG206c
Logged
BJ Fisher
Stealthy Sound
Columbus,OH

Adam Whetham

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3077
  • Grand Forks, ND
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2010, 10:45:37 PM »

benjamin fisher wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:36

This particular board is a Yamaha MG206c


Isn't the aux 4 post fader on that one?? That's gotta be fun to have that monitor mix  Laughing

but back to the topic on hand.

you have groups so cool. And group outs right under the aux outs.

so say you have vocals in channels 1-4 and you want to add some verb? Click down the 1/2 group buttons on them along with the ST ones.

now the 1/2 group fader will be your output level to the FX unit.

Now plug that out from group 1 out (I would stick with mono for this until you decide you need stereo FX...) and plug it into your FX units L/mono input

take the L/Mono output of the unit and take it back into the line input of say channel 12 (I say 12 because its still a mono channel and I'm not sure if you run your PA in stereo or not)

now turn channel 12 up to taste and you have FX....

a backwards and non-standard way to do it, but it will get the job done.

Just a warning though.

NEVER send channel 12 to group 1/2 or you will have a horrible mess/noise coming out of your speakers.

EDIT: AND! do not press in the ST button on the group 1/2 to send it to stereo. we don't want it going anywhere except out its outputs on the back of the board.
Logged
-I practice safe excursion on the weekends.

"If you think it's expensive to hire a professional to do the job, wait until you hire an amateur." -Paul Neal "Red" Adair

Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6592
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2010, 10:58:31 PM »

Adam Whetham wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:45

benjamin fisher wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:36

This particular board is a Yamaha MG206c


Isn't the aux 4 post fader on that one?? That's gotta be fun to have that monitor mix  Laughing

but back to the topic on hand.

you have groups so cool. And group outs right under the aux outs.

so say you have vocals in channels 1-4 and you want to add some verb? Click down the 1/2 group buttons on them along with the ST ones.

now the 1/2 group fader will be your output level to the FX unit.

Now plug that out from group 1 out (I would stick with mono for this until you decide you need stereo FX...) and plug it into your FX units L/mono input

take the L/Mono output of the unit and take it back into the line input of say channel 12 (I say 12 because its still a mono channel and I'm not sure if you run your PA in stereo or not)

now turn channel 12 up to taste and you have FX....

a backwards and non-standard way to do it, but it will get the job done.

Just a warning though.

NEVER send channel 12 to group 1/2 or you will have a horrible mess/noise coming out of your speakers.




And do not depress the switch which routes the groups (which you are now using for FX sends) to the main L/R bus.  Right, Adam?
Logged
 Neo-Luddite, Rocket Surgeon
"Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain."

Tom Reid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7412
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2010, 11:02:03 PM »

Hi, it looks like you can use any of the group outs on the back as an fx send.  

Just don't assign the returned fx to the sub group that's doing the sending.
Logged
tom

What does Buddha do on his day off?

Adam Whetham

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3077
  • Grand Forks, ND
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2010, 11:23:13 PM »

Dick Rees wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:58


And do not depress the switch which routes the groups (which you are now using for FX sends) to the main L/R bus.  Right, Adam?


HAHA! Not even joking Dick I just woke up from sleeping thinking "OH CRAP I FORGOT TO MENTION THE ST BUTTON ON THE GROUPS!" and had to turn my computer on again to check quick.

Yes. make sure the ST button is not clicked in/sending to the Stereo for this to work right. I'm going to edit my directions up farther.
Logged
-I practice safe excursion on the weekends.

"If you think it's expensive to hire a professional to do the job, wait until you hire an amateur." -Paul Neal "Red" Adair
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 

Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.025 seconds with 17 queries.