ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel  (Read 4274 times)

(BJ) Benjamin Fisher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« on: February 18, 2010, 09:37:50 pm »

I am using all of my Aux's for monitors, so isnt there a way I can run an Outboard Effects unit into a spare channel I have and be able to incorporate it into the vocal channels? How, and how will this work? I have no experience with such process.
Logged
BJ Fisher
Stealthy Sound
Columbus,OH

Tim McCulloch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 0
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 09:46:22 pm »

benjamin fisher wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 20:37

I am using all of my Aux's for monitors, so isnt there a way I can run an Outboard Effects unit into a spare channel I have and be able to incorporate it into the vocal channels? How, and how will this work? I have no experience with such process.

From where would the input to the FX be derived?
Logged
"Will you stand by me against the cold night, or are you afraid of the ice?" Crack The Sky

Adam Whetham

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3077
  • Grand Forks, ND
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2010, 09:49:41 pm »

if its just one channel you could user the channel insert. which would also send the effect to the monitors though. and you would have to hit the bypass button to turn it on and off and adjust the wetness on the unit.

You could also cheat and if your board has groups assign the vocal channels to a group, then take the group out (if it has such a thing) and run it back into a channel...

what board do you have that you have all the aux's filled up with monitors?
Logged
-I practice safe excursion on the weekends.

"If you think it's expensive to hire a professional to do the job, wait until you hire an amateur." -Paul Neal "Red" Adair

Scott Deeter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1055
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2010, 09:55:51 pm »

Nevermind Adam beat me to it Crying or Very Sad
Logged
Take care,
Scott Deeter

Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6592
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2010, 10:00:37 pm »

Adam...

Yamaha MG166 was cited in his introductory post.

That would be a big 3 auxes.  
Logged
 Neo-Luddite, Rocket Surgeon
"Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain."

(BJ) Benjamin Fisher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2010, 10:36:56 pm »

This particular board is a Yamaha MG206c
Logged
BJ Fisher
Stealthy Sound
Columbus,OH

Adam Whetham

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3077
  • Grand Forks, ND
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2010, 10:45:37 pm »

benjamin fisher wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:36

This particular board is a Yamaha MG206c


Isn't the aux 4 post fader on that one?? That's gotta be fun to have that monitor mix  Laughing

but back to the topic on hand.

you have groups so cool. And group outs right under the aux outs.

so say you have vocals in channels 1-4 and you want to add some verb? Click down the 1/2 group buttons on them along with the ST ones.

now the 1/2 group fader will be your output level to the FX unit.

Now plug that out from group 1 out (I would stick with mono for this until you decide you need stereo FX...) and plug it into your FX units L/mono input

take the L/Mono output of the unit and take it back into the line input of say channel 12 (I say 12 because its still a mono channel and I'm not sure if you run your PA in stereo or not)

now turn channel 12 up to taste and you have FX....

a backwards and non-standard way to do it, but it will get the job done.

Just a warning though.

NEVER send channel 12 to group 1/2 or you will have a horrible mess/noise coming out of your speakers.

EDIT: AND! do not press in the ST button on the group 1/2 to send it to stereo. we don't want it going anywhere except out its outputs on the back of the board.
Logged
-I practice safe excursion on the weekends.

"If you think it's expensive to hire a professional to do the job, wait until you hire an amateur." -Paul Neal "Red" Adair

Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6592
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2010, 10:58:31 pm »

Adam Whetham wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:45

benjamin fisher wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:36

This particular board is a Yamaha MG206c


Isn't the aux 4 post fader on that one?? That's gotta be fun to have that monitor mix  Laughing

but back to the topic on hand.

you have groups so cool. And group outs right under the aux outs.

so say you have vocals in channels 1-4 and you want to add some verb? Click down the 1/2 group buttons on them along with the ST ones.

now the 1/2 group fader will be your output level to the FX unit.

Now plug that out from group 1 out (I would stick with mono for this until you decide you need stereo FX...) and plug it into your FX units L/mono input

take the L/Mono output of the unit and take it back into the line input of say channel 12 (I say 12 because its still a mono channel and I'm not sure if you run your PA in stereo or not)

now turn channel 12 up to taste and you have FX....

a backwards and non-standard way to do it, but it will get the job done.

Just a warning though.

NEVER send channel 12 to group 1/2 or you will have a horrible mess/noise coming out of your speakers.




And do not depress the switch which routes the groups (which you are now using for FX sends) to the main L/R bus.  Right, Adam?
Logged
 Neo-Luddite, Rocket Surgeon
"Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain."

Tom Reid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7412
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2010, 11:02:03 pm »

Hi, it looks like you can use any of the group outs on the back as an fx send.  

Just don't assign the returned fx to the sub group that's doing the sending.
Logged
tom

What does Buddha do on his day off?

Adam Whetham

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3077
  • Grand Forks, ND
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2010, 11:23:13 pm »

Dick Rees wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:58


And do not depress the switch which routes the groups (which you are now using for FX sends) to the main L/R bus.  Right, Adam?


HAHA! Not even joking Dick I just woke up from sleeping thinking "OH CRAP I FORGOT TO MENTION THE ST BUTTON ON THE GROUPS!" and had to turn my computer on again to check quick.

Yes. make sure the ST button is not clicked in/sending to the Stereo for this to work right. I'm going to edit my directions up farther.
Logged
-I practice safe excursion on the weekends.

"If you think it's expensive to hire a professional to do the job, wait until you hire an amateur." -Paul Neal "Red" Adair

Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6592
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2010, 11:26:08 pm »

Adam Whetham wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 22:23

Dick Rees wrote on Thu, 18 February 2010 21:58


And do not depress the switch which routes the groups (which you are now using for FX sends) to the main L/R bus.  Right, Adam?


HAHA! Not even joking Dick I just woke up from sleeping thinking "OH CRAP I FORGOT TO MENTION THE ST BUTTON ON THE GROUPS!" and had to turn my computer on again to check quick.

Yes. make sure the ST button is not clicked in/sending to the Stereo for this to work right. I'm going to edit my directions up farther.



Dude!!!  We gotta get us some life!!!
Logged
 Neo-Luddite, Rocket Surgeon
"Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain."

(BJ) Benjamin Fisher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2010, 08:22:50 am »

Lol thanks guys. I dont normally need 4 monitor mixes, just this case (for now), so atleast it will get the job done. I am borrowing the board from a friend for this gig and thought that  Aux 4 could be switched between pre/post fader. But I guess thats not the case. How will this effect the 4th mon mix? How can I remedy it, or atleast make it bearable?

Art, I cant wait to get that board off of you.
Logged
BJ Fisher
Stealthy Sound
Columbus,OH

Patrick Tracy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2406
    • Boulder Sound Guy
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2010, 02:59:12 pm »

benjamin fisher wrote on Fri, 19 February 2010 06:22

Lol thanks guys. I don't normally need 4 monitor mixes, just this case (for now), so at least it will get the job done. I am borrowing the board from a friend for this gig and thought that  Aux 4 could be switched between pre/post fader. But I guess that's not the case. How will this effect the 4th mon mix? How can I remedy it, or at least make it bearable?


Every adjustment of a channel fader will also alter that input in the post-fader aux mix. There's no practical way to make it bearable other than not altering your main mix for the show. Musicians need a stable reference, not something that shifts as you adjust for the audience's needs.

Jeff Wheeler

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2364
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2010, 04:56:01 pm »

Why are you not using your MG24/14FX?  That mixer has sufficient auxes.
Logged
Jeff Wheeler, wannabe sound guy / moonlight DJ

(BJ) Benjamin Fisher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2010, 06:40:19 pm »

I dont have an MG24...I only have the MG16. This MG20 is a friends, but I'm going to try to use a friends MixWiz. I am getting a Mackie SR24 from Art in the next few weeks, just need something for the time being.
Logged
BJ Fisher
Stealthy Sound
Columbus,OH

(BJ) Benjamin Fisher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #15 on: February 20, 2010, 01:57:03 am »

Problem solved, borrowing a MixWiz. Easy fix.
Logged
BJ Fisher
Stealthy Sound
Columbus,OH

James Feenstra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1574
    • http://www.crewspace.com/James
Re: Running Outboard Effects Through Channel
« Reply #16 on: February 20, 2010, 02:10:19 am »

use groups

take a (post fader) group out into the fx unit, and return to a channel as normal

assign whatever channels you want to go to the effect to the group

it's not as neat and tidy as an aux send, but it'll get the job done and at least let you control both the input and output level going to and from the fx unit
Logged
James Feenstra
Lighting, Audio and Special Effects Design
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.019 seconds with 15 queries.