ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: amp for my 2 new labs  (Read 4690 times)

Shaun Crawford

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 327
    • http://www.northernprod.com
amp for my 2 new labs
« on: October 19, 2009, 10:53:44 pm »

so i can see a pl380 in the upcoming future, but for the time being with what I have... after doing a lot of reading of the past 22 pages of lab forums.... Smile and calculating numbers and looking over the manuall...

my qsc 2450...

looks to be better to run each driver in the cab off each channel of the 2450 (not bridged) and the input of the amp set to parallel.

would it be safe to run it in bridged mono (with the drivers wired in parallel, 1 cab per amp)? i've read conflicting views on that... Smile
Logged
Shaun Crawford
Northern Productions, LLC
Live Sound & Lighting
http://www.northernprod.com
Midland, MI 48640
(989) 430-5355

Silas Pradetto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3047
Re: amp for my 2 new labs
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2009, 10:06:10 pm »

Leave the drivers in parallel in each cab. Bridge a 2450 into each and you'll be golden. I would NEVER separate the drivers in a LAB because if they aren't powered together bad things happen. Remember a 35Hz 24dB/octave or steeper high pass is MANDATORY. Don't clip.

And 2 LABs are pretty unimpressive, build 2 more to be impressed.
Logged

Al Limberg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1482
Re: amp for my 2 new labs
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2009, 11:07:11 pm »

The 1850HD works like a champ bridged into single Labs  but with "two more on the way", a single 5050 is a relatively light weight and compact option.
?;o)
Al
Logged
If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get one million miles to the gallon, and explode once a year killing everyone inside - Robert X. Cringely

Josh Billings

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 949
    • http://www.mindboxmedia.com/soundsystem
Re: amp for my 2 new labs
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2009, 01:16:14 am »

I like my combo of RMX4050 HDs but the 5050 would probably work well too. I definitely like the sound better than the PLX3402 i tried once.

I used 2 1850 HDs when i first had LAB Subwoofers and i've blown 15 amp breakers (Both on the same circuit) before and didn't blow any speakers. It was running a HEAVY bassline (Like constant bass notes for 3 minutes or so). Not to say it couldn't of blown the speakers, but the breaker went first (nice to reset a circuit breaker on my furman and not recone a speaker).

-Josh Billings
Logged

Gary Perrett

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 298
Re: amp for my 2 new labs
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2009, 12:23:59 am »

I have the 4050Hd, the RMS2450, the Microtech 2400, and have tried others and for me the MAC 3600 in stereo on a pair, has given the best results...the growl is "delicious"!
G
Logged
We the few who have done so much, for so long, with so little, now feel we can do everything with nothing...

Paul Gariepy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 66
    • http://www.paulstech.com
Re: amp for my 2 new labs
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2010, 11:11:37 pm »

i'm powering my new labs off a plx3102 bridged fed by a drive rack hp 35hz, lp 85hz limiters enabled at just before clip They seem to rock out just fine and the qsc gets warm but Ive run it with the clip led just barely lighting every so often with heavy bass for a 4hr party in a local bar and all was well. i might feed them more later but @ 3ohm i would imagine im getting around 3200w out of the plx and that's program for the 2 labs.
Logged
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic."
-Arthur C. Clarke

John Cameron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 763
Re: amp for my 2 new labs
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2010, 10:29:01 am »

Paul Gariepy wrote on Fri, 01 January 2010 23:11

@ 3ohm i would imagine im getting around 3200w out of the plx and that's program for the 2 labs.


It's probably lower than the 4-ohm bridge rating, ~2800watts. Current limiting.
Logged
JBL VRX / SRX / SR / Eon-g2
LSR4328P + LSR4312SP -studio
Yorkville Elite 2000EX
2-PL236
4-IT6K
Studiolive 24.4.2
Yamaha Digital
Rode / Shure / Sennheiser / Neumann / AKG

Art Welter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4874
Re: amp for my 2 new labs
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2010, 02:15:44 pm »

John Cameron wrote on Fri, 08 January 2010 08:29

Paul Gariepy wrote on Fri, 01 January 2010 23:11

@ 3ohm i would imagine im getting around 3200w out of the plx and that's program for the 2 labs.


It's probably lower than the 4-ohm bridge rating, ~2800watts. Current limiting.


Well, it is what it is but a Lab Sub is quite a bit higher than three ohms due to the horn loading.

3200 watts would be peak, not program, the Lab 12 is rated for 400 watts RMS x2 =800, +3dB =1600, +6 dB is 3200.
Logged

Paul Gariepy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 66
    • http://www.paulstech.com
Re: amp for my 2 new labs
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2010, 11:28:30 pm »

"3200w out of the plx and that's program for the 2 labs."

remember there is a PAIR bridged so 6+6 parallel = 3 horn effect = ~6 x2 cabs parallel = ~3ohm load

I didn't think about the max current on the PLX's i may have to do some testing to see what i have actually coming out. you may be right and its being starved for juice.

That just means I can throw more power at them! and there already making dust & debris come off the ceiling! The real test will be this spring and summer at the outdoor shows with all 4 (or 8 if budget permits)


Logged
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic."
-Arthur C. Clarke
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.067 seconds with 19 queries.