ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Looking for ideas for power in an amp rack  (Read 2053 times)

Jeff Hague

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 628
    • http://www.richmondproaudio.com
Looking for ideas for power in an amp rack
« on: December 12, 2009, 03:11:46 pm »

Hey folks!
I am getting a new amp rack finally. My current rack is wood and was built by my brother 8 or 9 years ago. It is very well made and holds amps but thats about it...
I have ordered all of the input, output and patch bay toys that I need and plan on doing a very clean install of those components but would also like a very clean setup for power.
In the current rack I mounted a small 220 volt distro and duplexes for the amps with a 30a range plug that plugged directly into my actual distro but many of the venues Im in do not have 220 available. I typically have all of the amps unplugged from the duplexes with power cables just hanging out of the back of the rack.
The current amp compliment consists of 1 QSC RMX5050, 2 QSC RMX2450s and 1 QSC MX1500a (which will likely be replaced by a QSC GX5 sometime soon). I can run the rig on two 20 amp circuits but I prefer to use three and would like to be able to just pull 2 or 3 extension cords to the rack and plug in.
How do you guys handle power in your racks? Any ideas (even pics?) would be appreciated.
Thanks!
Logged
"I want to die like my grandfather, peacefully in his sleep - not yelling and screaming like the passengers in his car." (Unknown)
http://www.richmondproaudio.com

Rick Stansby

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2401
Re: Looking for ideas for power in an amp rack
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2009, 03:29:23 pm »

You could put a pair of these on a panel:
http://www.stayonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=8718

Then you could run a pair of extension cables to the rack at each gig.
Logged
Rick

Tim Padrick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5008
Re: Looking for ideas for power in an amp rack
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2009, 09:27:56 pm »

Rick Stansby wrote on Sat, 12 December 2009 14:29

You could put a pair of these on a panel:
http://www.stayonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=8718

Then you could run a pair of extension cables to the rack at each gig.



The trouble with Edisons is that they will fall out when some dufus trips on the cable, or even looks at it crosseyed. If you are 120V and no more than 20A, the PowerCon is the ticket.  I love those things.  http://www.padrick.net/LiveSound/RackStuff/RackStuff.htm

Rick Stansby

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2401
Re: Looking for ideas for power in an amp rack
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2009, 09:33:58 pm »

Tim Padrick wrote on Sat, 12 December 2009 18:27

Rick Stansby wrote on Sat, 12 December 2009 14:29

You could put a pair of these on a panel:
http://www.stayonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=8718

Then you could run a pair of extension cables to the rack at each gig.



The trouble with Edisons is that they will fall out when some dufus trips on the cable, or even looks at it crosseyed. If you are 120V and no more than 20A, the PowerCon is the ticket.  I love those things.  http://www.padrick.net/LiveSound/RackStuff/RackStuff.htm




Yeah, I hate edisons and use twistlocks on almost every rack.  Jeff said he wanted edison, so I was just showing him something he might want.

It's funny because when I originally posted, I meant to mention your rack panels too which I think would work great for Jeff.
Logged
Rick

Jeff Hague

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 628
    • http://www.richmondproaudio.com
Re: Looking for ideas for power in an amp rack
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2009, 10:44:48 pm »

Rick Stansby wrote on Sat, 12 December 2009 21:33

Tim Padrick wrote on Sat, 12 December 2009 18:27

Rick Stansby wrote on Sat, 12 December 2009 14:29

You could put a pair of these on a panel:
http://www.stayonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=8718

Then you could run a pair of extension cables to the rack at each gig.



The trouble with Edisons is that they will fall out when some dufus trips on the cable, or even looks at it crosseyed. If you are 120V and no more than 20A, the PowerCon is the ticket.  I love those things.  http://www.padrick.net/LiveSound/RackStuff/RackStuff.htm




Yeah, I hate edisons and use twistlocks on almost every rack.  Jeff said he wanted edison, so I was just showing him something he might want.

It's funny because when I originally posted, I meant to mention your rack panels too which I think would work great for Jeff.



Duh - I dont know why I didnt think Powercon... Aside from the dufus issue, the problem I have with Edisons is finding a rack freindly way to mount them. Powercons come in a D style, right? That may just be the ticket...
Logged
"I want to die like my grandfather, peacefully in his sleep - not yelling and screaming like the passengers in his car." (Unknown)
http://www.richmondproaudio.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.05 seconds with 19 queries.