ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade  (Read 7784 times)

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 963
Re: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade-another manual
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2005, 07:05:12 pm »

The midi is used to get control between the consoles.  You have to use the ADAT and 2 tr digital to get any audio to pass between the units.  You can easily get 10 channels of audio (your choice through cascading patches) or if you add the MY16AT cards you can get up to 26 channels between consoles.  These channels can be anything you want such as aux sends-main send-solo-subgroups-channels-inserts or whatever.  There is huge flexability, but it takes a while to figure it out and how best to actually use it.  THe yamaha manual tells you how to do it, if you what questions to  ask it.

I am enclosing a manual I wrote for our customers (it is church use based).  It is still uneditied (so don't complain!! HAHA) but does give some basic usages that come from the classes I teach on the console.  It may give some operational guidence, but does not go into detail as it was sritten for the end user.
Logged
Can I have some more talent in the monitors--PLEASE?

Ivan Beaver
dB Audio & Video Inc.

mr_ngiau

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade-another manual
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2005, 10:50:28 am »

Thanks Ian.  I think I got it....  Smile We'll find out once the consoles arrived.

Attached is the pictorial patch that I put together, at least what I understood.  Please advise.

Kevin
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 718
Read the guy's name
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2005, 11:19:27 am »

I pointed this out earlier. Ivan Beaver has been helping you with cascading your consoles. You keep calling him Ian.

Mac
Logged

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 963
Re: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade-another manual
« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2005, 06:16:33 pm »

The only issue I see is that with only the ADAT cable between the consoles you only have a path for 8 audio signals.  These would normally include Main-solo-aux.  To get an extra 2 you should also cascade the 2TR digital in/out.  You could lose the ADA8000 for your aux's and use the 4 omni on the main console and then adat over to the slave and insert into the aux's post fader (they should have already been cascaded out pre fader) and routed to the 4 omni on the slave console + the L/R ouputs.  This would give you a combination of 12 analog outs.
Logged
Can I have some more talent in the monitors--PLEASE?

Ivan Beaver
dB Audio & Video Inc.

Harold Mayo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
Re: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade
« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2005, 06:48:01 pm »

Thanks Ivan for the manual.

At least in our case, I don't see the point in cascading consoles if all we want are inputs.   If 26 is all we can get, and we have 24 now, then upgrading consoles is the way to go.
Logged
ManofMayo

mr_ngiau

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade-another manual
« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2005, 10:59:42 pm »

Thanks Ivan.  Hope I got your name right this time.  Thanks guys.

Kevin
Logged

James Turner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade
« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2005, 06:54:47 pm »

why do you want to upgrade to the dm1000? there is only 8ch difference.

James
Logged

Harold Mayo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
Re: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade
« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2005, 09:29:15 pm »

we are now investigating the 02R96 instead of the DM1000
Logged
ManofMayo

mr_ngiau

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade-another manual
« Reply #18 on: June 28, 2005, 01:21:04 pm »

HI Ivan,

both my mixers have arrived. I've got 2 MY16 card too.  And also an Alesis HD24.

Everything is there, but I can't get my computer to sync with the mixer.  sigh....

Kevin
Logged

Harold Mayo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
Re: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade
« Reply #19 on: June 28, 2005, 03:42:43 pm »

he have had the same problem and can't figure out why.   We have tried the latest drivers and the old drivers.   The only thing we haven't tried is a computer w/ XP Pro.   Did your computer have XP Pro?
Logged
ManofMayo

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Yamaha O1V96 Cascade
« Reply #19 on: June 28, 2005, 03:42:43 pm »


Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.082 seconds with 23 queries.