ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: two mixers, but one PA.  (Read 5507 times)

Joseph Yoon Jr.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
Re: two mixers, but one PA.
« Reply #20 on: September 28, 2009, 12:29:37 pm »

Jordan Wolf wrote on Mon, 28 September 2009 08:35

Here ya go...figured the other picture might help make more sense of your explanation:

http://www.rane.com/jpg/deq60ch.jpg




oooooooooh

that makes a little more sense now.
Logged
@ LAB to learn.

Kristian Johnsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2765
    • http://www.partyfabrikken.no
Re: two mixers, but one PA.
« Reply #21 on: September 28, 2009, 01:10:19 pm »

Thanks!
Logged

Jordan Wolf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1889
    • http://www.facebook.com/howlingwolf487
Re: two mixers, but one PA.
« Reply #22 on: September 28, 2009, 01:34:43 pm »

No problem, Kristian.  Smile
Logged
Wolf
<><

"A lack of preparation on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part."
- Me

"With that much comb filtering you could probably part your hair just by walking through the room." - Dick Rees

Joseph Yoon Jr.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
Re: two mixers, but one PA.
« Reply #23 on: October 02, 2009, 02:55:09 pm »

fellas,

I've also got another question....

the place we're moving to has a pair of QSC HPR152is in place. We used to run a of JBL MRX525s and no subs at our old location. We're now thinking that we can just share the mains, and we'll trade in our tops for some subs.

I've heard the MRX528s and the EV TourX TX2181s (which sound better than the MRX subs). I have yet to hear the HPR subs (which we might  still go for, but we've already got amplification left over from the tops), but I will get to hear them today.

Besides choosing subs, even if we do decide on the HPRs, should we opt for a DSP unit? The QSC boxes have the built in hi/lo pass filters on the back, but I feel like sending a properly "separated"  signal to the tops and subs would give us a cleaner sound overall--not to mention the other benefits of having a DSP in the signal chain...

Would something basic like the DRPA+ (they've made it white and added a + to the designation to it now) work for our needs? I'm also looking at the EV DC-One, and am welcome to suggestions.  
Logged
@ LAB to learn.

Jordan Wolf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1889
    • http://www.facebook.com/howlingwolf487
Re: two mixers, but one PA.
« Reply #24 on: October 02, 2009, 03:02:38 pm »

You might want to look for a 3-in/6-out DSP so that you can implement aux-fed subs if you so desire.
Logged
Wolf
<><

"A lack of preparation on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part."
- Me

"With that much comb filtering you could probably part your hair just by walking through the room." - Dick Rees

Joseph Yoon Jr.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
Re: two mixers, but one PA.
« Reply #25 on: October 02, 2009, 03:30:43 pm »

Jordan Wolf wrote on Fri, 02 October 2009 12:02

You might want to look for a 3-in/6-out DSP so that you can implement aux-fed subs if you so desire.



having the ability to run aux-fed subs is also a concern...so besides going for a larger 4x8 DSP, I'm guessing the Sabine Navigator360 or the XTA DP444/DP446...(I have no idea what the XTA units cost).

Then again, if the matter of cost comes into play, I do have a feeling that it'll be a showdown between the EV DC-One and the DriveRack PA+...
Logged
@ LAB to learn.
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.024 seconds with 19 queries.