ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]   Go Down

Author Topic: Danley Demo Review  (Read 54243 times)

Paul Dershem

Re: Danley Demo Review
« Reply #90 on: August 26, 2009, 01:01:41 AM »

Thanks for your most thoughtful reply. Very interesting stuff, indeed!    Smile

I found and interesting discussion of group delay here:
http://www.trueaudio.com/post_010.htm
Please be patient; I'm a noob!

Phillip_Graham

« Reply #91 on: August 26, 2009, 01:16:33 PM »

Rory Buszka wrote on Tue, 25 August 2009 23:10

From the DIY department, here's a tapped horn design that a friend of mine and I designed and built in April 2008. It's an unconventional design in that it deviates from the typical conical tapped horn by incorporating a 2.2:1 restriction at the mouth that forms an acoustic mass element, effectively shifting the low corner of the horn down to about 45 Hz. This makes it the first (that I'm aware of) in a new class of tapped horn designs: the "Mass-Loaded Tapped Horn". Put simply, a bit of efficiency is sacrificed to achieve a slightly lower corner frequency; the tradeoff is that the more mass is added, the lower the overall efficiency. A very small amount of mass is added in this design, but I've seen promising things from designs where more mass is added.

The working title for the design is the "Hornet". Jerry McNutt of Eminence is using a 40Hz version designed for the HL-10 and is pleased with it; development of the ML-TH concept is ongoing.

Rory,

Since we are discussing such designs, I should mention that Art Welter and I cooked up something related to your design, but that is not a tapped horn.

I was inspired by the design of a class of optically "pumped" "q-switched" laser resonator cavities.  Art took to calling it the "Resopump."