ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: "sound as a ministry/not a paid gig"  (Read 6170 times)

Jay Ballard

Re: "sound as a ministry/not a paid gig"
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2005, 10:47:27 AM »

I, too, believe that this is one of my ministries to the church congregation.  I do get paid, but I subscribe to the theory that so does the pastor.  I didn't ask to be paid, but was offered the salary by the church.  I had been volunteering for the same duties for about 13 years before I ever received a check.  

My church looks at it from multiple angles.  First, if I were to be strictly volunteering, they would have no way to require me to be at a function.  As audio is a necessity (our sanctuary seats 1600), someone has to be there for any event.  Secondly, a volunteer does not have the same level of, for lack of a better word, responsibility to the church. If something breaks or doesn't go just right, a volunteer may not feel it necessary to follow through to completion whatever repairs/remedies may be needed.  This would fall on one of the ministers, who has better things to do (serving the congregation).  Thirdly, my church looks at it as a way to say "Thank You" for providing a consistent level of service to the church.  The salary is no where close to market value, but it is a small token.  When the salary started, the Personnel committee looked at the difference between what I do and what a Sunday School teacher does.  A Sunday School teacher can prepare for a lesson anywhere and does not necessarily have to be away from their family.  My duties require me to be at the church.

I also am a deacon at my church and serve as the chairman of our Properties Team.  In addition, I help maintain the telephone and data systems of the church.  I look at these as also giving back to the church.