ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: "sound as a ministry/not a paid gig"  (Read 6151 times)

humbled sound guy

"sound as a ministry/not a paid gig"
« on: April 23, 2005, 06:53:32 PM »

Trying to get people to work the sound in the church is hard. They are just scared to get yelled at.  I'm doing better though.
I'm getting more people involved.  I do it for free for services when I have time it seems that i always have time.  I request money for anything extra like weddings.  I have to stop trying to be the nice guy.  I have to start charging for every sunday
I guess I could agree with all you guys about the difficulty of working in a church enviorment. from fake knob turning all the way to turing someone completly off in the house when they sound horrible.  I have been doing church sound for about 10 years myself.  I still believe I have a lot to learn. (I started when I was only 11 years old) But it's always one thing after another.  Now I have been doing sound for this new church I'm for 3 years.  My problems range from an adequate system for music reproduction to getting the band/praise team on time for sound check.  Its looking a little better now I laid a propasal down for the 3rd time they might listen.  Instead of the band/praise team getting there 5 minutes before service start they get there 15 minutes. (keys,drums,bass,lead guitar,2 horns. organ, congas, timbales, 6 back vocs, 1 lead, and a choir)I think longer sound would be needed. even more when they are start off fine but go flat by the middle of the first song. but i don't know anything

Mark Cartwright

Re: "sound as a ministry/not a paid gig"
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2005, 07:47:25 PM »