ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Horn Design  (Read 4798 times)

Kingston Eck

Horn Design
« on: September 22, 2009, 10:27:59 PM »

Hello All!

First, I was not sure if I should post this here or in the Basement or the Lounge, so if a mod thinks it should be moved, please do so...

Here is the scoop, I recently purchased 4 unloaded LABs to replace two very old and decaying labs.  I had two spare lab12s lying around, so I bought another set... and holy crap!  I now need more tops... lots more tops!

As a graduate student in engineering I have some flexibility with my scheduling.  This semester I had a great idea, and talked the Dean into approving it.  I am taking 25% of my credit hours this semester doing an independent design study of horn loudspeaker design.  I am studying under a professor who's interests lie in acoustics, so he will be helping with ideas as well.  Basically I am doing research, modeling and hopefully some prototype testing on horn loaded enclosures for the subs I recently acquired.

This post is basically me wanting to bounce some ideas off of the people that would know way more than what I do and have better judgment than I would by doing research alone.  Right now I am doing some modeling in Horn Response and doing lots of reading, later I plan on making 3D models of the designs and plugging them into the FEA program ANSYS to better evaluate them before building a prototype.  As of right now I am just trying to nail down parameters to shoot for as far as frequency response, so any input into what anyone here would consider an ideal response would be awesome!