ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: First gig with QSC K10 speakers !  (Read 51770 times)

Neal Gaudet

First gig with QSC K10 speakers !
« on: June 02, 2009, 02:20:08 PM »

First, let me explain the setup....I play in a weekend rock/pop/classic band : drums, guitar, bass, some kb, and three vocals. We play in small bars and do a lot of small weddings and conventions. I am the drummer in the band. I've been playing live for 20 years and I work in audio post in the daytime.

Unfortunately, we do sound from the stage most of the time, and did on this gig (Yamaha 01v96).....SO.....I actually didn't have a lot of time listening to them out front, except for during sound check , and then during breaks with BG music.

What I can say is that they handily replaced a pair of Mackie SRM450's. Every bit as loud, wayyyyyy punchier and go deeper...even with the LF and HF switches flat.  On this gig, we ran them with a single Mackie SWA1501...one pole mounted on top of that and the other on a stand.
The top end in uncannily smooth. Like really really smooth. Not used to that with these kind of speakers(read <$1000 speakers). Coverage was plenty wide.

During one of the breaks, I simply could not believe how much bottom end they were capable of producing. Turned the sub waaaay down and it was still pumping. I am waiting for the right gig (smaller room) to play without the sub entirely, just to see how they do. I know, the Mackie SWA1501 isn't doing much anyway. We will probably buy the K Sub later this fall, when they're available.

I can't much else about how they sound yet...but I can say they are very light and easy to carry and pack. I love the 'top' handles! I had the pair in the front seat of my 2007 VW Rabbit (one on floor, one on seat). One person can easily put it up on a stand. They look really good with the plain black steel grilles.