ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........  (Read 6352 times)

Kevin Callery

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
    • http://www.mksoundhire.com
Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........
« on: May 27, 2009, 11:05:29 AM »

Hey all I recently acquired a Mackie Quad EQ for my monitors but I have found it has a lot of high end hiss on the output. Has anyone else encountered this problem? On a noisy stage it's not really a concern but on a quiet stage it's very hard to balance the signal to noise ratio. Any help would be appreciated.
Logged
Kevin Callery
MK Sound
Cavan
Ireland
http://www.mksoundhire.com
info@mksoundhire.com

Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6592
Re: Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2009, 03:30:27 PM »

Kevin Callery wrote on Wed, 27 May 2009 10:05

Hey all I recently acquired a Mackie Quad EQ for my monitors but I have found it has a lot of high end hiss on the output. Has anyone else encountered this problem? On a noisy stage it's not really a concern but on a quiet stage it's very hard to balance the signal to noise ratio. Any help would be appreciated.


Is the hiss present without anything connected to the unit?  If so, then you've got yourself a noisy unit.  If not, then the problem is most likely the system gain structure.  If that's the case you are picking up noise where the gain is close to the noise floor and then brought back up to an unacceptable level further down the line.
Logged
 Neo-Luddite, Rocket Surgeon
"Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain."

Steve Hurt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1964
Re: Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2009, 08:41:44 PM »

I had Quad EQ for a while and they're pretty darn quiet.  If the EQ is making the noise, then it has service issues.  How do you have it patched in?
Logged

Jay Barracato

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1112
Re: Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2009, 06:52:09 AM »

Does the unit have a bypass?

I would be interested if the hiss is present when the unit is bypassed. I have a GEQ that just seems to have its own noise that is only noticeable when there is no other signal. The hiss goes away in bypass.

Jay

Logged
Jay Barracato
Solomons MD

Kevin Callery

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
    • http://www.mksoundhire.com
Re: Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2009, 11:24:47 AM »

I've routed it with the signal directly fed through the xlr's and also inserted it into the aux out and it seems to be the same either way. I can live with the signal to noise ratio on the monitors with a  bit of a balancing act but there's no way I could use it on FOH. Just a bit of a pity cos it's such a neat unit....
Logged
Kevin Callery
MK Sound
Cavan
Ireland
http://www.mksoundhire.com
info@mksoundhire.com

Tom Reid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7412
Re: Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2009, 12:35:59 PM »

Kevin Callery wrote on Thu, 28 May 2009 10:24

I've routed it with the signal directly fed through the xlr's and also inserted it into the aux out and it seems to be the same either way. I can live with the signal to noise ratio on the monitors with a  bit of a balancing act but there's no way I could use it on FOH. Just a bit of a pity cos it's such a neat unit....


Yes a very neat piece of gear.
I use mine to do 4 way monitors from FOH.
No hiss.
I run aux 1-4 xlr in to xlr out to snake, to 2 crown xs1200.
Even with hi gain on the amps it is dead quiet.
Logged
tom

What does Buddha do on his day off?

Art Welter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4874
Re: Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2009, 12:45:52 PM »

Kevin,

Are you sure you are not boosting gain with the EQ, 10 dB is available.
Boosting above 5K would also increase hiss.
What happens when you hit bypass?
What happens when you use the same two XLR plugs that went through the unit and connect them together?
Logged

Alan Roberts

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 123
Re: Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2009, 03:57:47 PM »

I've noticed hiss only when the EQ is hooked up to powered speakers with digital amps.


Logged

Kevin Callery

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
    • http://www.mksoundhire.com
Re: Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2009, 06:57:04 PM »

I've a festival coming up this weekend and the rack is currently packed for moving so I'll have to have a good run through it before sound checks begin to see how I can get the most out of it.
I'll have 4 monitor mixes so I'll be running all 4 channels so I'll see how it behaves
Logged
Kevin Callery
MK Sound
Cavan
Ireland
http://www.mksoundhire.com
info@mksoundhire.com

jake hedlund

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Mackie Quad EQ with a lot of Hiss........
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2009, 02:05:43 PM »

I am having an identical problem with the same equipment. Bypass does nothing and the hiss is there even if there are no inputs plugged in. I am using shielded XLR cables for everything. Any ideas of what could be wrong?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 

Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 15 queries.