ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: back to square one  (Read 1954 times)

luis Markson

• Just keep going....
back to square one
« on: March 03, 2011, 01:48:26 am »

I've just started reading the Yamaha Sound Reinforcement Handbook cover to cover. I used it as a reference text back in college, but didn't enter a part of the industry that required much of that knowledge. I've just landed a gig as an operator of a small PA that may grow into something of worth (There's been talk of KV2 VHD.. but I think that might just be talk....in fact I would almost bank on it..). Outside of archival and post production work, I've been operating monitors for about 5 years but really didn't engage in anything beyond the fundamentals.. I've been running my own totally unrelated business during this time and have started to reach burn out. I need to move on... So its time to start taking audio seriously again and see If I can make some kind of career for myself.

My plan is to read through the text and look to this forum for clarification of points that I don't find immediately understandable. I also would love recommendations on further texts as I go, when particular topics need more research, which no doubt will be an endless pursuit!

So here we go, question 1 page 1.

In the short description of the frequency attribut of a sound wave, a comment is made that while frequency relates to pitch, so does amplitude:

Frequency corresponds to the music attribute of pitch. Although pitch is a more complex attribute than frequency (it also involves amplitude)...

What is the relationship between amplitude and pitch and how does that differ from frequency?

« Last Edit: March 03, 2011, 02:01:06 am by luis Markson »

Jim Thorn

• State College, PA
Re: back to square one
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 10:38:57 pm »