ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Th115 vs Deuce  (Read 15347 times)

Matt Harris

Th115 vs Deuce
« on: January 28, 2009, 02:02:24 PM »

I have a pair of each that i unloaded just to do this test. Since i have received a lot of help with smaart i though i would run this test for you guys. I am not giving my opinions on either sub at the moment, just the facts. I will post my review later.

The setup macbook, 48k pink noise, fasttrack pro, DBX meas mic, miz wiz directly into 1 input of a CrestPro 9200. The measurements were taken outdoors at 10ft. I used the lines in my driveway as reference position because the ground was wet and tape would not stick. Mic was directly on axis for the single cab test and directly in between the cabs for the double cab tests.

As you all know i am new to Smaart so take this FWIW. The Danleys are the 8ohm versions and the Deuces are 4 ohm. I adjusted the Danleys for 3db on the traces.

The first tests i had the gain just over -12db for the single deuce. Of course when i ran two cabs things got a bit hotter. Not wanting to touch anything, I just went through with all of the measurements as is.  I then retested everything starting with the pair of deuces at -12db. I know this probably does not make much of a difference but i didnt want to do this wrong. Also, for each test the Auto LG was used before hand.

Here are the results

EDIT: I should also add that i angled the mic down a little bit more for the 2nd test and for some reason, test 2 phase for the danley was thrown off. Thats why i posted both, so take your pick.

index.php/fa/20606/0/

Matt Harris

Re: Th115 vs Deuce
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 02:02:46 PM »

index.php/fa/20607/0/

Matt Harris

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 02:03:14 PM »

index.php/fa/20608/0/

Matt Harris

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 02:03:37 PM »