ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: powering the growler  (Read 2802 times)

jon moore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
powering the growler
« on: December 02, 2008, 05:36:26 am »

 I am thinking of buying a set of growlers and need to know if I have enough power. I have Two Crown XTI 1000. They are rated at 1000 watts bridged 8 ohms. If i use one XTI 1000 bridged @8 ohms per growler, will that be enough?
                              Thanks, Jon Moore
Logged

John Halliburton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1785
Re: powering the growler
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2008, 09:53:31 am »

jon moore wrote on Tue, 02 December 2008 04:36

 I am thinking of buying a set of growlers and need to know if I have enough power. I have Two Crown XTI 1000. They are rated at 1000 watts bridged 8 ohms. If i use one XTI 1000 bridged @8 ohms per growler, will that be enough?
                              Thanks, Jon Moore


Should be okay.

Best regards,

John
Logged

jon moore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: powering the growler
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2008, 02:11:06 am »

Thanks John,

I was concerned about head room. I don't really know how much room I would need but, I think I will buy the Growlers and try these amps on them.

Thanks for the advice
   
  Jon Moore
Logged

drewgandy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 588
    • http://gandymethod.com
Re: powering the growler
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2008, 02:51:52 pm »

John Halliburton wrote on Tue, 02 December 2008 08:53

jon moore wrote on Tue, 02 December 2008 04:36

 I am thinking of buying a set of growlers and need to know if I have enough power. I have Two Crown XTI 1000. They are rated at 1000 watts bridged 8 ohms. If i use one XTI 1000 bridged @8 ohms per growler, will that be enough?
                              Thanks, Jon Moore


Should be okay.

Best regards,

John


Has Jeff done the plug in the wall test yet?  I'm thinking that an NL4 to edison cable with a well placed diode could be pretty cool for 120hz fun.  

d
Logged

Evan Kirkendall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6824
    • http://www.evankirkendall.com
Re: powering the growler
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2008, 05:22:09 pm »

drewgandy wrote on Wed, 03 December 2008 14:51

John Halliburton wrote on Tue, 02 December 2008 08:53

jon moore wrote on Tue, 02 December 2008 04:36

 I am thinking of buying a set of growlers and need to know if I have enough power. I have Two Crown XTI 1000. They are rated at 1000 watts bridged 8 ohms. If i use one XTI 1000 bridged @8 ohms per growler, will that be enough?
                              Thanks, Jon Moore


Should be okay.

Best regards,

John


Has Jeff done the plug in the wall test yet?  I'm thinking that an NL4 to edison cable with a well placed diode could be pretty cool for 120hz fun.  

d


You mean 60hz, right? Wink




Evan
Logged
Not all change is good change.

drewgandy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 588
    • http://gandymethod.com
Re: powering the growler
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2008, 05:32:10 pm »

Evan Kirkendall wrote on Wed, 03 December 2008 16:22



You mean 60hz, right? Wink




Evan


And 180hz too. Wink  
Actually the dc offset of some rectified combo would probably burn the vc in very short order.  2 growlers in series though....

drew
Logged

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9010
Re: powering the growler
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2008, 05:53:41 pm »

He would need to put in a bridge rectifier to get 120Hz.  A single diode is not going to do it.  And it would sound like crap.

But then again, the point would be ??????
Logged
For every complicated question-there is a simple- easy to understand WRONG answer.

Can I have some more talent in the monitors--PLEASE?

Ivan Beaver
dB Audio & Video Inc.
Danley Sound Labs

drewgandy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 588
    • http://gandymethod.com
Re: powering the growler
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2008, 06:22:34 pm »

Ivan Beaver wrote on Wed, 03 December 2008 16:53


But then again, the point would be ??????


A jumble of different ideas.  I was going from the thread about plugging mics and guitars directly into wall outlets to the idea of torture testing a growler to the idea of limiting the power a bit in some way.  I should have said that some combo of diodes could produce some rectification and made a scenario that the growler could actually survive.  Obviously with that kind of voltage swing and some diode action it would be rich with all kinds of harmonics.  Ultimately this was topic swerve based on a cross idea about how to power a growler on the cheap.  On note wonder type stuff.  

Sorry this hasn't been helpful to the original poster.  But more on topic, I did hear a growler + triple 12 setup for the first time last night and it pretty much sounded the way I expected.  Clean and tight.  Don't hesitate to get your wallet out.  

drew

Disclaimer, the subs were powered with a crown IT6000 amp.  This was not an underpowered scenario.  
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.055 seconds with 19 queries.