ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Building User-Friendly Systems  (Read 712 times)

Peter Kowalczyk

Building User-Friendly Systems
« on: March 17, 2024, 08:49:15 PM »

Hey Comrades-in-Audio...

I have had the dubious honor of designing and installing a variety of Audio and A/V systems over the last 10 years or so.  My background is in live production, and I've learned a bit about the video side of things over the years.

I'm curious to hear people's design approach ideas for building systems that un-trained users can operate easily, correctly, and intuitively.  I've found that one of the greatest challenges is to K.I.S.S. and somehow balance high-capability and flexibility with user-friendliness.

Coming from a live production background, my first systems were based around typical bar-band-scale PA hardware.  This approach generates a lot of questions and urgent support calls from bar managers and other novice users. 

I'm doing more systems that are built around networkable matrix processors (whether or not integrated with an amplifier), with fewer interface points and fewer controls.  That is clearly a more streamlined approach, but eliminates some capability for advanced users. 

Now I'm being asked to incorporate more video hardware and distribution in my hybrid systems.

I recognize that there is a lot I still don't know about, e.g. Crestron, QSys, and other high-level AV control systems.

What design philosophies have guided your most successful installs?  What product ecosystems have you found to be easiest, most economical, and most user-friendly?  ... TIA

Brian Jojade

• HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Building User-Friendly Systems
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2024, 09:02:34 PM »

These days, there's a ton of equipment available that you can use to create simple to use systems but have virtually unlimited flexibility.