ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: My new laptop doesn't like the LAB!  (Read 3894 times)

Darren Scaresbrook

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
    • http://members.optusnet.com.au/~mdsaudio/
My new laptop doesn't like the LAB!
« on: June 06, 2008, 03:22:36 am »

I recently bought a new laptop that doesn't want to display complete pages in the LAB. It works fine everywhere else, the issue seems to be only here.
It shows the banner ads, titles etc, but the forum itself only works occasionally, maybe 5 or 10% of the time. I think the data is downloading ok because doing a print preview shows everything. Pressing the esc key will sometimes show some or all of the remaining page.
Laptop is running vista if that makes a difference.
I'm far from brilliant with computers so any help is appreciated!
Cheers,
      Darren
Logged
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~mdsaudio/
The nice thing about standards is that there are so many to choose from. – Andrew S. Tannenbaum

Ernie Black

  • SR Forums
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
    • http://www.standingstone.com
Re: My new laptop doesn't like the LAB!
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2008, 05:53:38 pm »

That's an interesting and unusual problem, Darren. What browser are you using? I've viewed the forum frequently on Vista with IE7, Firefox 2, and Safari 3.1; on XP with IE6 and IE7 and FF 2; on Win2000 with IE6 and FF 1.x; on a laptop running XP with IE7 and FF2; and on an old iMac running IE 5.2 without problem. I've also checked it in multiple browsers/platforms via browsershoots.org, and have only seen major problems with very old browsers (like Netscape 4.7 and IE4).

Always open to user input....
Logged
Ernie Black, Code Warrior
ProSoundWeb Forums Webmaster

Darren Scaresbrook

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
    • http://members.optusnet.com.au/~mdsaudio/
Re: My new laptop doesn't like the LAB!
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2008, 04:53:51 am »

Hi Ernie,
I'm using IE7.
I've tried turning off all virus programs, pop up filters etc. but still no go.
Cheers,
      Darren
Logged
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~mdsaudio/
The nice thing about standards is that there are so many to choose from. – Andrew S. Tannenbaum

Ernie Black

  • SR Forums
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
    • http://www.standingstone.com
Re: My new laptop doesn't like the LAB!
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2008, 04:53:08 pm »

Well, hard to say since I can't replicate what you're seeing. Have you tried accessing one of the other forums (REP, for instance) to see if you get the same result?
Logged
Ernie Black, Code Warrior
ProSoundWeb Forums Webmaster

Tim McCulloch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 0
Re: My new laptop doesn't like the LAB!
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2008, 01:13:50 pm »

Frankly, you should blow off the piece of shit IE7.  Seriously.  Even Opera renders the forums correctly (except for part of 1 banner).

Firefox will work 100% with all PSW subdomains.

Have fun, good luck.

Tim Mc
Logged
"Will you stand by me against the cold night, or are you afraid of the ice?" Crack The Sky

Darren Scaresbrook

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
    • http://members.optusnet.com.au/~mdsaudio/
Re: My new laptop doesn't like the LAB!
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2008, 01:20:36 am »

Ok,I've done a bit more investigating.
The problem is also evident on all of PSW, not just the forums.
The pages are not downloading fully,if I look at the code it just stops half way. If I use a dial up connection all works fine, the problem shows up only when I am using a wireless broadband 3G connection.
Cheers,
      Darren
Logged
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~mdsaudio/
The nice thing about standards is that there are so many to choose from. – Andrew S. Tannenbaum

Ernie Black

  • SR Forums
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
    • http://www.standingstone.com
Re: My new laptop doesn't like the LAB!
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2008, 11:51:04 am »

Darren Scaresbrook wrote on Thu, 19 June 2008 01:20

Ok,I've done a bit more investigating.
The problem is also evident on all of PSW, not just the forums.
The pages are not downloading fully,if I look at the code it just stops half way. If I use a dial up connection all works fine, the problem shows up only when I am using a wireless broadband 3G connection.
Cheers,
      Darren


That's counter-intuitive; if anything I'd expect the opposite resulte with dial-up vs. broadband.

There is a problem that popped up Thursday with the srlive section (www.prosoundweb.com/index.php/srlive), where the page doesn't open properly in Firefox (and only in FF), which we are currently debugging. IE7 was a HUGE improvement over IE6, but still buggy; IE8 promises to be much better (it passes the acid test beautifully, better than FF 2 or Safari 3, though for some strange reason it makes a complete mess of maps.google.com--I have to wonder if that isn't M$ deliberately sabotaging their prime competitor). I highly recommend FF 3, just released, which is a major step forward.

We'll keep working on these issues, and thanks for letting us know.
Logged
Ernie Black, Code Warrior
ProSoundWeb Forums Webmaster

Darren Scaresbrook

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
    • http://members.optusnet.com.au/~mdsaudio/
Re: My new laptop doesn't like the LAB!
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2008, 11:42:05 am »

Well, for the last week or so everything has worked witout a hitch! I haven't changed anything on this end.
Go figure!
Darren
Logged
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~mdsaudio/
The nice thing about standards is that there are so many to choose from. – Andrew S. Tannenbaum
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.044 seconds with 20 queries.