ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Too much to ask? A&H GL4800  (Read 6596 times)

Scott Sutherland

Too much to ask? A&H GL4800
« on: April 13, 2008, 05:12:29 pm »

I have been pondering for about 4 months whether to purchase an A&H GL4800 mixer.  I had a few questions that the tech staff was able to answer... sort of.  The next request was to the local distributor for A&H products: "Where could I go to look at a GL4800 before I purchase one?  I would be willing to travel up to 100 miles to see one."  His response was "No, I can't think of any right now."

Is it too much to ask to see an $8000+ mixer before you buy one?

When I expressed an interest in a Yamaha LS9-32, the local dealer called me back 8 times to try to persuade me to purchase one.  He probably would have dropped one off at my door for me to demo, but I explained to him I really wanted an analog board with automation.

Should I give up on A&H?

Scott (stuck on analog)
Scott1

Steve Hurt

Re: Too much to ask? A&H GL4800
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2008, 06:23:12 pm »

Why not post what city you are located in.

You might get lucky and find a Labster who will let you come and check their's out.

Scott Sutherland

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2008, 06:32:06 pm »

Done! Thanks!
Scott1

Jordan Wolf

• http://www.facebook.com/howlingwolf487
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2008, 11:39:41 am »

Scott Sutherland wrote on Sun, 13 April 2008 17:12

...I really wanted an analog board with automation.

The GL4800 has automation?  Or are you talking about the various mute scenes you can have?  Maybe I'm just not up-to-date on the ne version of console.

Jordan Still-using-a-GL4000 Wolf
<><
Wolf
<><

"A lack of preparation on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part."
- Me

"With that much comb filtering you could probably part your hair just by walking through the room." - Dick Rees