ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Electro Voice Eliminator i Sub E- Worth it?  (Read 24132 times)

Keith Buckner

Re: Electro Voice Eliminator i Sub E- Worth it?
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2010, 06:49:54 PM »

I have been using Various EV subs for a couple years now.
For the money there a good value. I currently use the older EV Eliminators, I recently upgraded my system and bought some EV Eliminators which I found out they where actually Elimnator i Series, shich look slightly different, same basic design only difference is the way the grills are inset on i Series and wrape around the front corners on the regulars.
I have never had any problems with these subs, only thing was the used ones I purchased had a couple of loose bolts on the speaker, they only use 4 bolts to hold the sub to the baffle in blind nuts, because of the speaker mounting angle I suppose.
To get the most out of these I have found to use a good crossover unit.. much better than the passive crossover built into the sub.
I use a Crown CE4000 to power two Eliminator subs, and Crown CE2000 to power 2 EV-Eliminator i 15" two ways.
I also use a DBX Drive Rack PA + now instead of an EQ and Crossover... It is the Sh***ts.. and.. 5 minuets and the whole system is pinked and rock solid, no matter what room or acoustics. Very well rounded and powerful sound for the money.

Walter Wright

« Reply #11 on: June 20, 2010, 11:22:05 PM »

bleecch! i'd rather have the stank b*ger sub.

unless your only requirements are subs that will slide under a low-built stage for no money, get something else. (my semi-regular house gig club is stuck with 4 of these for just that reason.)