ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Acoustic-Electric Hum & Crackle Help  (Read 10864 times)

Duncan McLennan

• Ontario, Canada
Acoustic-Electric Hum & Crackle Help
« on: February 25, 2011, 08:00:07 PM »

Let me start by saying that I am by no means a guitar player. I'm a drummer first, and just play a little guitar on the side.

I have an acoustic electric that's been sitting in its case under my couch for months, never really played. It's a Seagull, and I got it cheap because it was a prototype model.  It has an active preamp (labeled Quantum HS1), a piezo pickup in the bridge, and a single coil clamped across the sound hole.

I needed it for a gig, so I pulled it out, cleaned it up, new strings, oiled the finger board, etc., and when I went to plug it in I noticed it has a significant 60 cycle hum that I don't remember being there.  When I touch the connector shell, the metal control panel, the metal pin (output jack) it goes away.

I have been reading about internal shielding and how it is important in an acoustic electric. While I had the strings off I was digging around inside to reattach the jack, which had come loose.

I've fiddled with it all evening now, and can't get the hum to go away. Solder joints look good as far as I can tell. And now it's starting popping and crackling, but with no apparent pattern. It's not like distortion, only when I play. If I set it down and don't touch it, it will randomly start with a mild 'bacon' sound.