ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power  (Read 2532 times)

Michael Oladipo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« on: February 22, 2018, 02:15:12 pm »

Good evening everyone, please is it possible to daisy chain more than one amplifiers to have more powerful combined power(watts). For example, I have powerful set of subwoofers, and so is it possible to combine the amplifiers watts in order to power the subs? if yes, pks how...thnks.
Logged

Dave Dermont

  • Forum Moderator
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • From The Great Pocono Northeast
Re: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2018, 02:45:36 pm »

Good evening everyone, please is it possible to daisy chain more than one amplifiers to have more powerful combined power(watts). For example, I have powerful set of subwoofers, and so is it possible to combine the amplifiers watts in order to power the subs? if yes, pks how...thnks.

Please go to your profile and change the 'Name' field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules clearly displayed in the header at the top of the section.

Thank you.
Logged
Dave Dermont

Warning: Dates on calendar may be closer than they appear

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8838
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2018, 08:10:40 pm »

Good evening everyone, please is it possible to daisy chain more than one amplifiers to have more powerful combined power(watts). For example, I have powerful set of subwoofers, and so is it possible to combine the amplifiers watts in order to power the subs? if yes, pks how...thnks.
 
NO.
The best you might be able to do is to bridge amplifiers, even different brand mono amps.  But you must be very careful doing the wiring and setting the gains.

You cannot run the output of one amp into the input of another amp.  You will only have the output of the final amp.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3113
  • Toronto
Re: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2018, 09:55:56 am »

Good evening everyone, please is it possible to daisy chain more than one amplifiers to have more powerful combined power(watts). For example, I have powerful set of subwoofers, and so is it possible to combine the amplifiers watts in order to power the subs? if yes, pks how...thnks.
As Ivan said, no you cannot daisy chain amps.
If you tell us what speakers and what amps are you using, we might be able to suggest something.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Mike Sokol

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3354
  • Lead instructor for the No~Shock~Zone
    • No~Shock~Zone Electrical Safety
Re: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2018, 01:56:27 pm »

As Ivan said, no you cannot daisy chain amps.
If you tell us what speakers and what amps are you using, we might be able to suggest something.

And that question should be moved over to another forum here.
Logged
Mike Sokol
mike@noshockzone.org
www.NoShockZone.org

Chris Grimshaw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1214
  • Sheffield, UK
    • Grimshaw Audio
Re: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2018, 04:53:35 am »

 
NO.
The best you might be able to do is to bridge amplifiers, even different brand mono amps.  But you must be very careful doing the wiring and setting the gains.

You cannot run the output of one amp into the input of another amp.  You will only have the output of the final amp.

Good point, I hadn't thought of bridging two mono amplifiers.
So if I took a pair of MA5002VZs, set them for parallel operation (where you can tie the positive outputs together, for 5kW into a 1ohm load), and fed one of them inverted, I'd have a 6U amp that'll stick 10KW into a 2ohm load.

Neat. All I'd need then is a forklift and a really big generator.

Chris
Logged
Sheffield-based sound engineering.
www.grimshawaudio.com

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8838
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2018, 07:20:49 am »

Good point, I hadn't thought of bridging two mono amplifiers.
So if I took a pair of MA5002VZs, set them for parallel operation (where you can tie the positive outputs together, for 5kW into a 1ohm load), and fed one of them inverted, I'd have a 6U amp that'll stick 10KW into a 2ohm load.

Neat. All I'd need then is a forklift and a really big generator.

Chris
One of the "untold" issues with the "parallel" mode, is that once you go up in freq, it starts to fall apart a bit.

I think this was around 5KHz or so.

So it is better used for lower freq signals.

Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3113
  • Toronto
Re: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2018, 07:55:18 am »

Good point, I hadn't thought of bridging two mono amplifiers.
So if I took a pair of MA5002VZs, set them for parallel operation (where you can tie the positive outputs together, for 5kW into a 1ohm load), and fed one of them inverted, I'd have a 6U amp that'll stick 10KW into a 2ohm load.

Neat. All I'd need then is a forklift and a really big generator.

Chris
Doing some welding? ;D
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Chris Grimshaw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1214
  • Sheffield, UK
    • Grimshaw Audio
Re: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2018, 12:09:55 pm »

One of the "untold" issues with the "parallel" mode, is that once you go up in freq, it starts to fall apart a bit.

I think this was around 5KHz or so.

So it is better used for lower freq signals.

That's interesting, thanks for the info.
I can't imagine needing that sort of power for HF, but I might do some high-frequency sweeps of the Macrotech I have here to see what the deal is.


Keith, I just found it interesting to compare - 4x MA5000s, paralleled and then bridged into a 2-channel amplifier, would keep up with a K20. That's progress.


Chris
Logged
Sheffield-based sound engineering.
www.grimshawaudio.com

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8838
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2018, 12:24:03 pm »

That's interesting, thanks for the info.
I can't imagine needing that sort of power for HF, but I might do some high-frequency sweeps of the Macrotech I have here to see what the deal is.



Chris
Be sure to do it under load.

I have not actually done/measured it, but was this was the case for a VERY reliable source, who has ties everywhere.

The problem might not show up on a simple sweep.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Daisy Chain Amplifiers' Power
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2018, 12:24:03 pm »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.063 seconds with 24 queries.