ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16  (Read 1386 times)

vunguyen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16
« on: March 26, 2014, 03:44:06 pm »

I'm looking to build some myself.
If I built, I'd need:
- Qty 2 of these: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004NPOPWW/ref=pe_385040_30332190_TE_M3T1_ST1_dp_1
- Qty 4 of these: http://www.audiopile.net/products/Adaptors_Connectors/NEUTRIK/ETHERCON/NE8MC/NE8MC_cutsheet.shtml
- And 1 of these: http://www.audiopile.net/products/Adaptors_Connectors/NEUTRIK/ETHERCON/NE8FF/NE8FF_cutsheet.shtml
It'd take me around 10 minutes to make them.  I'd have 2 100-ft cable that can be extended to 200 feet  when needed.  My total cost would be around $80.

But if I bought a pre-made one, it'll cost me >$250 & only 150-ft, Cat5E & no flexibility: http://www.fullcompass.com/product/439276.html

Wouldn't it make sense to build one?

Vu
Logged

Corey Scogin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 426
  • Birmingham, AL, US
Re: Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2014, 04:24:57 pm »

I don't think that Whirlwind cable is shielded.

Shielding isn't the only issue though.  I wouldn't trust a cable that wasn't built to be dragged and stepped on.  I had issues with a shielded direct burial cable that was more rugged than the one you linked.

In my case, I tried various cabling and ended up with the TMB ProPlex which probably costs more than the Whirlwind cable.  Also, if I were you, I'd put it on a reel and just get >200ft so you can use it anywhere without a coupler.
Logged

John Chiara

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 420
Re: Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2014, 04:31:53 pm »

I don't think that Whirlwind cable is shielded.

Shielding isn't the only issue though.  I wouldn't trust a cable that wasn't built to be dragged and stepped on.  I had issues with a shielded direct burial cable that was more rugged than the one you linked.

In my case, I tried various cabling and ended up with the TMB ProPlex which probably costs more than the Whirlwind cable.  Also, if I were you, I'd put it on a reel and just get >200ft so you can use it anywhere without a coupler.

I need something to hang up in a club...no dragging.
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12977
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2014, 05:22:03 pm »

I need something to hang up in a club...no dragging.

Use the ProCo product Berry recommended over at SFN; C271514 - Cat5E Shielded/Ethercon.  The wire is Belden 7919A.

edit ps: Belden part number typo corrected
« Last Edit: March 27, 2014, 03:10:48 pm by Tim McCulloch »
Logged
Chewing through your wimpy dreams
They eat without a sound,
Digesting England by the pound.

Corey Scogin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 426
  • Birmingham, AL, US
Re: Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2014, 06:02:45 pm »

Use the ProCo product Berry recommended over at SFN; C271514 - Cat5E Shielded/Ethercon.  The wire is Belden 7917A.

I purchased one of the cables Joe Sanburn posted a link to but I bought it from MusiciansFriend and the cable type was Belden 1533R.

The Belden 7917A is a coax + CAT5. Did he link that somewhere else?
« Last Edit: March 26, 2014, 06:05:00 pm by Corey Scogin »
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12977
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2014, 01:29:21 am »

I purchased one of the cables Joe Sanburn posted a link to but I bought it from MusiciansFriend and the cable type was Belden 1533R.

The Belden 7917A is a coax + CAT5. Did he link that somewhere else?

Nope, I have a 250' run of the ProCo product right here on my desk.  The number on the jacket is 7919A and is consistent with this:  www.markertek.com/Cables/Bulk-Wire-Cable/Bulk-Video-Cable/Belden/7919A-0101000.xhtml

Joe linked to the ProCo product on Sweetwater's site.  We called Rapco/Horizon/ProCo and ordered completed cables with Ethercons.  The Belden 7919A is what they delivered.  The difference between the 1533 and 7919 seems to be the outer jacket material.

edit ps: Belden part number typo from original post corrected.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2014, 03:11:35 pm by Tim McCulloch »
Logged
Chewing through your wimpy dreams
They eat without a sound,
Digesting England by the pound.

Corey Scogin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 426
  • Birmingham, AL, US
Re: Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2014, 01:15:19 pm »

Nope, I have a 250' run of the ProCo product right here on my desk.  The number on the jacket is 7917A and is consistent with this:  www.markertek.com/Cables/Bulk-Wire-Cable/Bulk-Video-Cable/Belden/7919A-0101000.xhtml

Joe linked to the ProCo product on Sweetwater's site.  We called Rapco/Horizon/ProCo and ordered completed cables with Ethercons.  The Belden 7917A is what they delivered.  The difference between the 1533 and 7917 seems to be the outer jacket material.

That's Belden 7919 not 7917.

I guess they changed from the 1533R to the 7919A at some point.

How is the flexibility of the 7919A?  The 1533R holds it's shape too well to lay down.
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12977
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2014, 03:08:42 pm »

That's Belden 7919 not 7917.

I guess they changed from the 1533R to the 7919A at some point.

How is the flexibility of the 7919A?  The 1533R holds it's shape too well to lay down.

You caught my typo. Thanks.

Local AV shop uses 1533R, I think it's a little stiffer than the 7919A but it pretty close.  Tight bends mean a kink that will never fully relax.  I'm putting my 7919A on these:  http://www.markertek.com/Cable-Management-Protection/Cable-Reels/TecNec/JACKREEL-3.xhtml  Plastic & metal, pretty light weight, not a tour-grade thing.

I suspect the TMB ProPlex is about the only STP that will lay out nice every time.
Logged
Chewing through your wimpy dreams
They eat without a sound,
Digesting England by the pound.

George Dougherty

  • Church and H.O.W. Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 439
Re: Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2014, 06:53:15 pm »

You caught my typo. Thanks.

Local AV shop uses 1533R, I think it's a little stiffer than the 7919A but it pretty close.  Tight bends mean a kink that will never fully relax.  I'm putting my 7919A on these:  http://www.markertek.com/Cable-Management-Protection/Cable-Reels/TecNec/JACKREEL-3.xhtml  Plastic & metal, pretty light weight, not a tour-grade thing.

I suspect the TMB ProPlex is about the only STP that will lay out nice every time.
The proplex does lay nice assuming you're wrapping cables properly but it doesn't seem super flexible. Somewhere about like the neoprene jacketed 12/3SJ I use for short extensions to gear.
Logged

John Penkala

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
Re: Cat6/5 Digital Snake Cable for Behringer X32/S16
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2014, 02:04:23 pm »

I don't think that Whirlwind cable is shielded.

Shielding isn't the only issue though.  I wouldn't trust a cable that wasn't built to be dragged and stepped on.  I had issues with a shielded direct burial cable that was more rugged than the one you linked.

In my case, I tried various cabling and ended up with the TMB ProPlex which probably costs more than the Whirlwind cable.  Also, if I were you, I'd put it on a reel and just get >200ft so you can use it anywhere without a coupler.


Corey,
        +1, The Whirlwind snake we have is not shielded.  However, the cable is not cheap. They use this cable in their multi channel snakes:

http://www.gepco.com/products/proav_cable/network/4pr_4chan_cat5Eheavyduty_M.htm

JP
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.211 seconds with 22 queries.