ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: will putting bass through pa blow speakers?  (Read 14578 times)

Harris Wangberg

will putting bass through pa blow speakers?
« on: May 14, 2012, 12:42:37 am »

Hey guys, I'm new to the live sound arena, and needing some help.  I just purchased some dual 12 pa speakers from seismic audio, rated for 600 watts rms, 1200 peak, and 4 ohms 45 hz - 20k. My guitarist has a peavy ipr 1600, at two 4 ohm speakers it is rated for 530 watts per channel.

Today we were setting the gear up, our equipment is all run through an old fender 100 watt power mixer. When I turned the bass channel up to only about 9 o clock on the mixer to get some smooooooth grooves from the bass guitar, immediately the guitarist told me to shut it off, then insisted the bass guitars open note is too low for the speakers to handle, (it's a B1) and that he read countless testimonials online about how putting bass through pa speakers can blow the speakers. And further insisted the bass cab will be more than enough to carry the bass.

Sounds fishy to me. B1 is around 60 hz, I don't see a problem. and his peavy shouldn't be sending a clipped signal to the speakers if we don't crank it. am I missing something?

any insight would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.

Brad Weber

• Marietta, GA
Re: will putting bass through pa blow speakers?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2012, 12:34:33 am »

Hey guys, I'm new to the live sound arena, and needing some help.  I just purchased some dual 12 pa speakers from seismic audio, rated for 600 watts rms, 1200 peak, and 4 ohms 45 hz - 20k. My guitarist has a peavy ipr 1600, at two 4 ohm speakers it is rated for 530 watts per channel.