ProSoundWeb Community

Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums => LAB: The Classic Live Audio Board => Topic started by: Steve Hetherington on October 22, 2012, 03:25:00 am

Title: Crown XLS1000 Power Supply
Post by: Steve Hetherington on October 22, 2012, 03:25:00 am
Hi

I have recently been given two Crown XLS1000 amps from a friend who got bought them from America to New Zealand. The problem being, New Zealand used 250v ac power not 120V. Is there anything I can do to get these to run? can the power supply be changed in them?

Thanks in advance
Steve
Title: Re: Crown XLS1000 Power Supply
Post by: Chris Chambers on October 22, 2012, 05:24:25 am
Hi

I have recently been given two Crown XLS1000 amps from a friend who got bought them from America to New Zealand. The problem being, New Zealand used 250v ac power not 120V. Is there anything I can do to get these to run? can the power supply be changed in them?

Thanks in advance
Steve

Dunno if this would be covered in the change over but from memory you'd also have to adjust the cycles - NZ/Aus are 50 hz whereas the US is 60.
Title: Re: Crown XLS1000 Power Supply
Post by: Mike Diack on October 22, 2012, 05:46:51 am
Hi

I have recently been given two Crown XLS1000 amps from a friend who got bought them from America to New Zealand. The problem being, New Zealand used 250v ac power not 120V. Is there anything I can do to get these to run? can the power supply be changed in them?

Thanks in advance
Steve

Remove jumper Z901, and change R927 to 100k and you're good to go.
(Dunno if this posting will survive - my last one got stomped after 2 hrs)
M
Title: Re: Crown XLS1000 Power Supply
Post by: Steve Hetherington on October 22, 2012, 02:08:04 pm
Remove jumper Z901, and change R927 to 100k and you're good to go.
(Dunno if this posting will survive - my last one got stomped after 2 hrs)
M

Thank you so much Mike. Made my week :D
Title: Re: Crown XLS1000 Power Supply
Post by: Mike Diack on October 22, 2012, 02:24:39 pm
Thank you so much Mike. Made my week :D
Just noticed another difference - fit 4x 82k resistors in R905,906,951,952 positions
(these are open in the 120volt version)
M
Title: Re: Crown XLS1000 Power Supply
Post by: Steve Hetherington on February 13, 2013, 12:13:55 am
Hi Mike

just want to thank you so much. the amps are going and sound awesome! for others out there, mike also said "Just noticed another difference - fit 4x 82k resistors in R905,906,951,952 positions
(these are open in the 120volt version)"

Steve
Title: Re: Crown XLS1000 Power Supply
Post by: Neville Ward on August 19, 2015, 03:05:17 pm
Remove jumper Z901, and change R927 to 100k and you're good to go.

Have you got the rest of the diagram? I have a fried one here...