ProSoundWeb Community

Site Rules, Bugs, Comments, Content and Forum Announcements => Bugs & Comments => Topic started by: Mike Prasuhn on July 11, 2016, 02:35:43 pm

Title: Cannot set real name
Post by: Mike Prasuhn on July 11, 2016, 02:35:43 pm
Hi, long time absentee from these parts, I don't think I've been active on the LAB since 2007ish, but was able to somehow retrieve my old account, with "archive_" prepended to the username. My display name was my old username and when I tried to update it to my full name - 'Michael Prasuhn' - I got an error that the name was already in use. This seems odd since I don't know how I would have an account under another username, and I don't think there's anyone else with that name that would be registered here.

Can you help me find the other account and see if it belongs to me, or if it's an archive thing, could you change that one to 'Mike' so that I can change this one to Michael?
Title: Re: Cannot set real name
Post by: Mac Kerr on July 11, 2016, 03:15:44 pm
Hi, long time absentee from these parts, I don't think I've been active on the LAB since 2007ish, but was able to somehow retrieve my old account, with "archive_" prepended to the username. My display name was my old username and when I tried to update it to my full name - 'Michael Prasuhn' - I got an error that the name was already in use. This seems odd since I don't know how I would have an account under another username, and I don't think there's anyone else with that name that would be registered here.

Can you help me find the other account and see if it belongs to me, or if it's an archive thing, could you change that one to 'Mike' so that I can change this one to Michael?

Since your real name is displaying I assume this is straightened out.
Mac
Title: Re: Cannot set real name
Post by: Josh Millward on July 11, 2016, 03:18:35 pm
Since your real name is displaying I assume this is straightened out.
Mac

Hey Mac, I understood him to mean that he would prefer his displayed name be "Michael" instead of "Mike".
Title: Re: Cannot set real name
Post by: Mac Kerr on July 11, 2016, 04:29:18 pm
Hi, long time absentee from these parts, I don't think I've been active on the LAB since 2007ish, but was able to somehow retrieve my old account, with "archive_" prepended to the username. My display name was my old username and when I tried to update it to my full name - 'Michael Prasuhn' - I got an error that the name was already in use. This seems odd since I don't know how I would have an account under another username, and I don't think there's anyone else with that name that would be registered here.

Can you help me find the other account and see if it belongs to me, or if it's an archive thing, could you change that one to 'Mike' so that I can change this one to Michael?

I will reset the user name on your old account (with 600+ posts). This will cause a password reset. The automatically generated password will be emailed to you at the email address on file, which I believe is your current address. Log in with that password and go to your profile to reset your password. I will remove the "archive" part of your username.

Mac
Title: Re: Cannot set real name
Post by: Mike Prasuhn on July 11, 2016, 04:40:46 pm
Is it possible to recover my old account? I didn't realize I had two accounts on here.

I will reset the user name on your old account (with 600+ posts). This will cause a password reset. The automatically generated password will be emailed to you at the email address on file, which I believe is your current address. Log in with that password and go to your profile to reset your password. I will remove the "archive" part of your username.

Mac