ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: PC recording of service  (Read 12742 times)

Chris Harrison

PC recording of service
« on: February 24, 2011, 07:51:25 PM »

I am in the process of gathering information and pricing for a multitrack recording solution at church.  I'm in the computer field so that side of it is covered.  I'm a self trained sound tech at church so my knowledge there is only limited to my experience, which is not that much.

My question is this.  I have a A&H GL2400 mixer.  I'm using the direct outs on the board for in ear monitors.  Can I use a cable splitter on the direct outs so that I can go to the audio interface and the in-ears, or will I lose to much audio quality for this to work?  If a cable splitter on each individual channel I want to record won't work, how do I do it?

Chris Harrison

Re: PC recording of service
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2011, 08:16:29 PM »

Done and Done.  Thanks for making me not be lazy.   ;D
« Last Edit: February 24, 2011, 08:18:50 PM by Chris Harrison »

Frank DeWitt

• LBP DI Box
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2011, 08:32:14 PM »

You should be OK.  As a general rule, splitting a line level output is OK Combining inputs is not.

Frank
Not to Code

Mike Spitzer

« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2011, 08:36:24 PM »

I don't record to PC, but I mix on a GL2400. I use two of the matrices for recording. The first outputs the groups and LR to a recorder since our worship leader likes to listen to it later. That's nice, since what you want in the mains isn't always what you want on the recorded track. The matrix lets you tweak the group levels so it sounds better. Another matrix is used the same way, except with a single group used to record the sermon.