ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A few questions  (Read 2393 times)

DSquared

A few questions
« on: January 19, 2005, 05:00:10 PM »

Hey everyone,
   Just signed up for the forum after reading through a few posts.  I'm currently a student at Columbia College Chicago and I'm considering on switching my major to Sound Contracting (I accutally am talking to the head of Recording tonight to switch over to Contracting.)  After taking a Sound System Design course here I've found a real connection with Contracting.  So, just a few questions:

1. Is home installation really booming right now, because I've heard from many sources that it is.

2. I would really like to be in a Union (I come from a strong Union family), I heard this is only possible doing commercial work.  Is this true?

3.  Are there any good sources (trade magazines, websites, etc.) for job listings in Contracting?

Thank you for your help.

Tom Young

Re: A few questions
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2005, 09:48:53 PM »

Contracting would be a very good career track, IMO.  And the fact that you're at Columbia is a real clear sign you did your homework when looking for a solid foundation and education in "meat&potatoes" pro audio.

Although I barely get involved in it, the home entertainment market is holding steady as far as what I can see.  It may still be booming.  It certainly will remain a viable market for a long, long time.  But it needs improvement in at least a few ways.  One is in measurement and optimization of the ldspkrs, which is overlooked or under-appreciated by 90% of the designers and installers.  As are acoustics.