ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: Good Grief, Gibson!  (Read 8546 times)

Ned Ward

• SR Forums
  • Redondo Beach, CA
    • Our band's page on Facebook
Re: Good Grief, Gibson!
« Reply #20 on: August 27, 2011, 11:23:55 AM »

Robin Williams does a great Charlton Heston: "Guns don't kill people; apes with guns kill people..."

Charlie Zureki

• South Eastern Michigan (near Windsor)
« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2011, 11:24:41 AM »

And this is why we have a judicial branch to arbitrate when the executive branch forgets that founding document. (I probably need to stop now before I offend somebody).

I won't argue fine points of law since I am not a lawyer, and defer to how impractical it is for government to root out and find individual instruments, while touring musicians presenting these same instruments to customs over and over, seems to be playing the odds in a form of russian roulette.

The referenced article mentioned that this is affecting touring muso's. Times change and we must also. If I owned some rare vintage instruments that might be impounded, I sure wouldn't gamble with losing them.

JR

JR.  the Executive (and Judicial & Legislative) Branch(es) having been snubbing their nose at the "Founding Documents"  for a LONG time.  It AIN'T Nothing new, and does not specifically apply to one Administration or branch of Government. But, as you've said, let's stop now, because we don't want to offend EVERY party.

No, I don't think anyone ever suggested that anyone is going to go door to door searching for guitars, whose woods are of questionable practices, trade, transactions, or...whatever..., but, they may take the opportunity to seize instruments as occasions arise...with provenance be damned.