ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: static/crackling like sound  (Read 8565 times)

Leroy St.Jean

static/crackling like sound
« on: October 21, 2010, 11:22:07 PM »

HI can you remember when i first ask for help on this static/crackling like sound we were having? well we did get the mixer tested and it was told us that the mixer was good,no problem found after all test was done. we were told that it was possibly another equipment that was at fault. So any ideas? thanks.

Jonathan Johnson

Re: static/crackling like sound
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2010, 11:04:06 AM »

Do you hear the crackling sound in headphones connected to the mixer (with the main output selected)? This will help determine which side of the mixer to look.

I have a master signal processor that sometimes produces a crackling noise. In this case, there is an internal ribbon cable that does not make good contact; a little bit of oxidation forms and the problem appears. To combat this, I reseat the ribbon cable a few times before every show to wipe off the oxidation. It's an inconvenience, but I'm too cheap to replace it.

Kent Thompson

• http://www.kentssongs.com
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2010, 04:35:06 PM »

It will be best if you can methodically go from one end of the system to the other one connector at a time. Start at either end and plug in one cable at a time and check for noise. Eventually you will find one cable or device that you plug in that is causing the noise. The guessing game is never very effective in finding a problem.

Mark Mattocks

« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2010, 10:45:42 PM »

I read through the first thread.  I believe that you said that the noise is still there when all of the microphone inputs are disconnected.  Is that accurate?